Potato and Shiitake Mushroom Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
I tried out this recipe for a small dinner party and it got rave reviews from everyone sitting at the table. I used Cheddar instead of Parmesan, since this was what I had on hand, and used only sliced cremini instead of the mixture of regular and shiitake mushrooms as suggested in some previous reviews. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
Love this recipe. I actually only used cream and no half and half by accident, but it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I made this as a side dish with prime rib. It went very well together, but it was a little watery. I think next time, I'll add a little flour in the dairy liquids to make it a little thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Gardena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
Excellent recipe, but it is not appropriate for vegetarians as it contains chicken broth. You would need to change this to vegetable broth instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
I really liked this, but I kept thinking of all the cholestral as I was making it. Some recipes can take substitutions, some can't...whenever I try something for the 1st time I always follow the exact ingredients. But next time I will substitute for lighter versions of the creams. And I won't always use the Shitake as it is very expensive. All in all very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
Yum, yum, yum. I substituted baby bellas for the shitakes and it was so good. Tastes even better next day. Next time, i will bake the day before and reheat with a little more cream on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Apron

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
excellent recipe! somewhat labor intensive but worth it. had to substitute portabello for shiitake, which still tasted great. reheats nicely, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marishah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Logansport, Indiana, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
I thought this was excellent. My grocery store didn't have shitake mushrooms, so I used all button musrooms. I also only used about half as many mushrooms as the recipe called for, and was a little worried I didn't have enough. But since mushrooms have quite a strong flavor, I thought it was just perfect. It was definitely more like a fabulous scalloped potato recipe than a mushroom recipe, but that's what I was hoping for. Served it the Grecian Pork Tenderloin also from this site, which is another one of our family favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
I thought this recipe was very good. Next time I would add more cheese. I felt that it was a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
I had this for x-mas and it was so wonderfull. It had so much flavor. my kids wanted to eat all the mushrooms. I will make this again. Faboulus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Truffled Potato Gratin

A creamy potato gratin starring a special truffle-studded Italian cheese.

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States