Potato and Shiitake Mushroom Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This has become one of my favorite foods on the planet. Have yet to make this without someone asking for the recipe. I use veggie broth and omit the rosemary and usually have to keep it in the oven closer to 1.5 hours. Shiitakes are a must for that woodsy flavoring but I use a mix of baby bellas, cremini, and white button along with the shiitakes. I make a half recipe in a 9 x9 dish just for me and eat it for a few days. It almost seems to get better each day. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Used white portobello mushrooms.Didn't use any cream. Top layer was sliced edam cheese sprinkled with parmesan cheese. Used a dessertspoon of butter cooking the mushrooms. The dish turned out delicious with a lot less cholestrol/fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
So delicious! I paired this dish with some lamb chops and it was the easy favorite. I halved the recipe as it was only serving 2 of us and there were plenty of leftovers. Otherwise, I followed it exactly as the recipe states. I agree with all the reviews that it doesn't necessary look nice, but you can get past that very fast when you take the first bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wadsworth, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
This was delish! My husband and I both went back for seconds. A few changes: I scaled the recipe to four servings. I didn't have rosemary and thyme, per se, so I added about 2 teaspoons of Italian seasoning: rosemary, thyme, sage, marjoram, oregano, and savory. That was a good decision. I read that some cooks were having difficulties getting this to cook through in an hour and a half. Well. I cut my potatoes very thin, like some were translucent kind of thin. If some slices were thicker, I arranged them on the edges of the pan since they'll get baked more there. I also used a very shallow and wide casserole pan, which let it bake through in 1 hr 15 mins. I used 1 C heavy cream and 1/3 C milk, (my hubs and I are young and reasonably thin, still ;) ). I added three cloves of garlic. Great decision! We really, really enjoyed this--and we'll be making it again. :) Oh, and one comment: this doesn't have great eye-appeal, but it's delectable just the same!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
This recipe was fantastic... I had a dinner party last night and the only bad thing is that my husband does not have any left overs. I made some minor changes... I used all portabellas, light cream instead of heavy, and I used fat free half and half... this is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edgewater, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Wow, this was fabulous! I didn't change a thing, other than halving the recipe and using fresh herbs. I used a round French White casserole dish, I think it's a 2 quart capacity. I cooked it for an hour and a half. The flavors were fantastic, I will definitely be making this again, my fiance' loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monticello, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
This was a big hit in my house. I made a half recipe. I used milk and half and half instead of cream. I also used all button mushrooms instead of shitake because I had a hard time finding them in my local store. It had so much flavor from the chicken stock infused mushrooms. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Absolutely wonderful. I would make it again tonight when we run out of leftovers if I could. This was a major hit on Thanksgiving and even had my mushroom hateing best friend devouring two portions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BERRYFINES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
very good this one did not go in the trash as leftovers. Good till the last bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
Very good! It was a nice potato dish to go with my prime rib dinner. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEBURKEBROOD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Truffled Potato Gratin

A creamy potato gratin starring a special truffle-studded Italian cheese.

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States