Potato and Shiitake Mushroom Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2001
I served this dish along side a marinated pork tenderloin and it worked great. Everybody raved about how delicious it was. A word of caution however -- not a good recipe for those trying to lose weight . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2002
Yum yum scrum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcbabe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
Awesome recipe. Tasty, fragrant, and overall delicious. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2004
This was excellent! I used all button mushrooms, sliced, and double the amount of fresh rosemary, and it was so so SO good. I halved it for an 8x8 inch dish (small family), but will definetly be making this full-sized for company. Good good good. I'm so happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeside, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2004
I loved this recipe. I subsituted sweetpotatoes for the gold yukons. It was so good. I used just regular white mushrooms and only 1 1/2lbs. I don't know where you would put the rest. This is great as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murray, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
This recipe is the BEST! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
excellent just the way it is, didn't change a thing although it did need to cook for 2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
I have made this recipe twice for guests and it was a large hit. I suggest to follow the recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
I used low-fat milk in place of the heavy cream to cut some of the fat and it still turned out beautifully. I will definitely make again. I used brown button mushrooms and I think it would be good with any type you prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
This is excellent tasting. It passed my husband and father-in-law's critique as well. They loved it! I used a whole cube of butter instead of the 6 TB as the'shrooms really soak it up. Also, instead of reducing the chicken stock until it disappears, I simmered the mushrooms in the stock for about 5-10 minutes then transfered them to the potatoes. I made a sauce to go over our steaks with the reserved chicken stock and seasonings. It was a very good use of the stock. They liked that as well. In all, quite a successful meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Truffled Potato Gratin

A creamy potato gratin starring a special truffle-studded Italian cheese.

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States