Potato and Shiitake Mushroom Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2001
I served this dish along side a marinated pork tenderloin and it worked great. Everybody raved about how delicious it was. A word of caution however -- not a good recipe for those trying to lose weight . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
I used low-fat milk in place of the heavy cream to cut some of the fat and it still turned out beautifully. I will definitely make again. I used brown button mushrooms and I think it would be good with any type you prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
I made this for a dinner party for my parents and future-in-laws. I was worried because I had cooked it for 2 hours and the potatoes were not done! I cooked it for another hour at 425 and I was able to serve from around the pan, but the middle was still not done. The good news? Everyone loved it. It was time consuming, but I had help in the kitchen. I would make it again for a special occasion. We served it with steaks and Lemon Pepper Green Beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
This was great as a side dish to steak. I used fat free half-and-half, a parmesan/pecorino-romano blend, and only shiitake mushrooms (only because I did not have any other types of mushrooms). The step involving boiling off the chicken broth from the mushrooms was surprisingly worth it as it added a layer of flavor to the dish. Next time I may try light cream instead of heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Franklin Square, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
excellent just the way it is, didn't change a thing although it did need to cook for 2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
Very good! It was a nice potato dish to go with my prime rib dinner. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEBURKEBROOD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
This dish is outstanding! I made it for a New Year's Day brunch and everyone really enjoyed it. If you like mushrooms, you will love this. And if you like wine this is a dish for you, because the flavor compliments wine beautifully. I put the whole dish together the night before, and the day of my brunch all I had to do was put it in the oven. The only complaint I have is that it bubbled up so much while it was baking that it made a mess all over the bottom of my oven, so next time I will use a slightly larger pan than what is called for. There will definitely be a next time! Thanks for sharing this recipe, it's fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
This was delish! My husband and I both went back for seconds. A few changes: I scaled the recipe to four servings. I didn't have rosemary and thyme, per se, so I added about 2 teaspoons of Italian seasoning: rosemary, thyme, sage, marjoram, oregano, and savory. That was a good decision. I read that some cooks were having difficulties getting this to cook through in an hour and a half. Well. I cut my potatoes very thin, like some were translucent kind of thin. If some slices were thicker, I arranged them on the edges of the pan since they'll get baked more there. I also used a very shallow and wide casserole pan, which let it bake through in 1 hr 15 mins. I used 1 C heavy cream and 1/3 C milk, (my hubs and I are young and reasonably thin, still ;) ). I added three cloves of garlic. Great decision! We really, really enjoyed this--and we'll be making it again. :) Oh, and one comment: this doesn't have great eye-appeal, but it's delectable just the same!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
This recipe is the BEST! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2004
This was excellent! I used all button mushrooms, sliced, and double the amount of fresh rosemary, and it was so so SO good. I halved it for an 8x8 inch dish (small family), but will definetly be making this full-sized for company. Good good good. I'm so happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeside, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Truffled Potato Gratin

A creamy potato gratin starring a special truffle-studded Italian cheese.

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States