Potato and Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
We loved this recipe. I substituted low-fat half-and-half for the cream, and it didn't make any difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
What a wonderful recipe! It's easy to make and great to eat! My husband and I made this together and it couldn't have been better! Definitely restaurant quality! The only changes we made were these...We added one more red potato (just to give it a little bit more potato flavor) And we only used 1 leek. (Using only the green, and a little bit of the white, but not much) This is definitely going to be recipe used regularly around our household! Thank you so much Corwynn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becka Baker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
We love this soup. It was very easy to make. The next time I make this I might halve the amount of cream as we thought it was a bit rich. The flavour was great and very filling. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: May 1, 2007
I don't know what some of the reviewers did to make their recipes no good, because mine was delicious!! It was amazing! My whole family thought so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
i love soup and potato and onions and now they are in 1 yeaa!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
I configured this recipe for 12, made my "batch" of it before noon and served it (with fruit, bread and a green salad) as a quick dinner for my family of 4 (husband and late teens) and they absolutely DEVOURED it (I'm not sure how younger kids would respond). An anecdote: I had a 7:30 community meeting I had to attend, and when I returned around 10:00, what I assumed would be my next day luncheon leftovers were GONE! :) This is a GREAT soup that seems to be well suited to all seasons. The flavors blended beautifully (I credit that to the few hours I allowed between preparation and serving). I dropped in 3 chicken boullion cubes (because that's how I know I'm making soup) and I garnished it with sliced scallion tops rather than chives (just a summertime preference). We're really big cheese people, so I think next time I make it, I'll adjust my liquids a bit so that I can melt some Velveeta into it. I'm also thinking that PepperJack or a few shakes of Cayenne Pepper may be just the additives that will get my kids to come home for dinner more often. Enjoy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
This was very good but did have a couple of minor changes. I added a bag of frozen corn and used fat free 1/2 & 1/2. I also thickened it a little. Now if you want to thicken potato soup up some use instant potato flakes. Sort of a no brainer if you think about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whats his face

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Branch, Michigan, USA
Photo by mom22pickyeaters
Reviewed: May 19, 2008
I just used butter, substituted 1/2 and 1/2 for the heavy whipping cream, and used scallions instead of leeks. This was a very yummy dish (I did mix the second batch of butter with a few tablespoons of flower over heat first). My kids devoured this meal. Very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom22pickyeaters

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
LOVED IT! But I added more potatoes and instead of the heavy cream, I used sour cream. REALLY good. My husband's having me add it to my list of things-he-loves-me-to-make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjb96a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Fantastic recipe. I used olive oil and added a couple ground up turkey Italian sausages to the pot which added a nice bit of meaty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Soup

Have leftover mashed potatoes? Make this tasty soup!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States