Potato and Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2007
I don't know what some of the reviewers did to make their recipes no good, because mine was delicious!! It was amazing! My whole family thought so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Made some changes...Used 3 - 4 large red potatoes, either 2 qts of vegetable broth or 1 qt water & 1 qt veg. broth, use evaporated milk, and lots of fresh cracked pepper...We like it a little chunky so didn't blend smooth, and addded some fresh grated parmesean cheese right before serving, along with the chives...Can also add some fresh mushrooms for added flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
LOVED IT! But I added more potatoes and instead of the heavy cream, I used sour cream. REALLY good. My husband's having me add it to my list of things-he-loves-me-to-make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjb96a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
if you want to make the soup to a thicker consitentcy you can add a little bit of slurry wich is cornstarch and water or you can use a little bit of roux which is butter cooked into flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I used chicken broth and 2% milk, but added another potato to make it thicker. I also added a garlic clove. It was really good and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
We loved this recipe. I substituted low-fat half-and-half for the cream, and it didn't make any difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
Like potato water. DO NOT MAKE THIS SOUP!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Califon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
What a wonderful recipe! It's easy to make and great to eat! My husband and I made this together and it couldn't have been better! Definitely restaurant quality! The only changes we made were these...We added one more red potato (just to give it a little bit more potato flavor) And we only used 1 leek. (Using only the green, and a little bit of the white, but not much) This is definitely going to be recipe used regularly around our household! Thank you so much Corwynn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becka Baker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
We love this soup. It was very easy to make. The next time I make this I might halve the amount of cream as we thought it was a bit rich. The flavour was great and very filling. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Added some smoked bacon and garlic oil(oil were the garlic was fried :) ) Great taste! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Soup

Have leftover mashed potatoes? Make this tasty soup!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States