Potato and Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
What a wonderful recipe! It's easy to make and great to eat! My husband and I made this together and it couldn't have been better! Definitely restaurant quality! The only changes we made were these...We added one more red potato (just to give it a little bit more potato flavor) And we only used 1 leek. (Using only the green, and a little bit of the white, but not much) This is definitely going to be recipe used regularly around our household! Thank you so much Corwynn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
It is very good. I made it with red (3 small) and one sweet potato. I also used milk instead of cream and added a bit of grated parmesan at the end. Lovely colour and combination of flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
We love this soup. It was very easy to make. The next time I make this I might halve the amount of cream as we thought it was a bit rich. The flavour was great and very filling. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
Like potato water. DO NOT MAKE THIS SOUP!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Califon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Made some changes...Used 3 - 4 large red potatoes, either 2 qts of vegetable broth or 1 qt water & 1 qt veg. broth, use evaporated milk, and lots of fresh cracked pepper...We like it a little chunky so didn't blend smooth, and addded some fresh grated parmesean cheese right before serving, along with the chives...Can also add some fresh mushrooms for added flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
I don't know what some of the reviewers did to make their recipes no good, because mine was delicious!! It was amazing! My whole family thought so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
i love soup and potato and onions and now they are in 1 yeaa!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
I configured this recipe for 12, made my "batch" of it before noon and served it (with fruit, bread and a green salad) as a quick dinner for my family of 4 (husband and late teens) and they absolutely DEVOURED it (I'm not sure how younger kids would respond). An anecdote: I had a 7:30 community meeting I had to attend, and when I returned around 10:00, what I assumed would be my next day luncheon leftovers were GONE! :) This is a GREAT soup that seems to be well suited to all seasons. The flavors blended beautifully (I credit that to the few hours I allowed between preparation and serving). I dropped in 3 chicken boullion cubes (because that's how I know I'm making soup) and I garnished it with sliced scallion tops rather than chives (just a summertime preference). We're really big cheese people, so I think next time I make it, I'll adjust my liquids a bit so that I can melt some Velveeta into it. I'm also thinking that PepperJack or a few shakes of Cayenne Pepper may be just the additives that will get my kids to come home for dinner more often. Enjoy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
We loved this recipe. I substituted low-fat half-and-half for the cream, and it didn't make any difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
if you want to make the soup to a thicker consitentcy you can add a little bit of slurry wich is cornstarch and water or you can use a little bit of roux which is butter cooked into flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Soup

Have leftover mashed potatoes? Make this tasty soup!

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States