Potato and Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
LOVED IT! But I added more potatoes and instead of the heavy cream, I used sour cream. REALLY good. My husband's having me add it to my list of things-he-loves-me-to-make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjb96a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
Very good. I added a pepper, garlic salt and butter instead of margarine. I didn't blend it either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mom22pickyeaters
Reviewed: May 19, 2008
I just used butter, substituted 1/2 and 1/2 for the heavy whipping cream, and used scallions instead of leeks. This was a very yummy dish (I did mix the second batch of butter with a few tablespoons of flower over heat first). My kids devoured this meal. Very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom22pickyeaters

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
This was very good but did have a couple of minor changes. I added a bag of frozen corn and used fat free 1/2 & 1/2. I also thickened it a little. Now if you want to thicken potato soup up some use instant potato flakes. Sort of a no brainer if you think about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whats his face

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Branch, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
nice and creamy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
if you want to make the soup to a thicker consitentcy you can add a little bit of slurry wich is cornstarch and water or you can use a little bit of roux which is butter cooked into flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
We loved this recipe. I substituted low-fat half-and-half for the cream, and it didn't make any difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
I configured this recipe for 12, made my "batch" of it before noon and served it (with fruit, bread and a green salad) as a quick dinner for my family of 4 (husband and late teens) and they absolutely DEVOURED it (I'm not sure how younger kids would respond). An anecdote: I had a 7:30 community meeting I had to attend, and when I returned around 10:00, what I assumed would be my next day luncheon leftovers were GONE! :) This is a GREAT soup that seems to be well suited to all seasons. The flavors blended beautifully (I credit that to the few hours I allowed between preparation and serving). I dropped in 3 chicken boullion cubes (because that's how I know I'm making soup) and I garnished it with sliced scallion tops rather than chives (just a summertime preference). We're really big cheese people, so I think next time I make it, I'll adjust my liquids a bit so that I can melt some Velveeta into it. I'm also thinking that PepperJack or a few shakes of Cayenne Pepper may be just the additives that will get my kids to come home for dinner more often. Enjoy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
i love soup and potato and onions and now they are in 1 yeaa!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
I don't know what some of the reviewers did to make their recipes no good, because mine was delicious!! It was amazing! My whole family thought so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Soup

Have leftover mashed potatoes? Make this tasty soup!

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States