Potato and Jalapeno Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
This recipe was amazing!! I made it on Christmas and my husband devoured most of the pan! I will definitely make this again. I followed it to the letter. Thank you for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I give this five, because it is the first potato cheese gratin I have ever attempted that has not come out runny. We used Swiss and didn't like it, so we will be switching to cheddar or a cheddar-gruyere combo and not looking back. Also, my casserole took more than 1 1/2 hours to cook well. And I could of used more generous salt between the layers. With or without the jalapenos; good either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RealisticChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I made this twice. First, I made it for 90-people community dinner. I used cheddar and Anaheim chilies. It was a huge hit! A lot requested servings to take home and many came up to me to compliment it. The second time I made it at home for myself. Was not a fan of the combo of gruyere and jalepeños at all! The Anaheims had better flavor and better paired up with cheddar. I realize the difference in cheese and addition of peppers sets this apart from traditional, but having made it 2 times so close together (2days apart), I feel confident with my conclusion. I love the ingredients and thought this was going to be fabulous; unfortunately, as presented here, I was disappointed. We all have different tastes and this wasn't horrible. I mean no offense to the original poster if the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
This is awesome!! I used only 2 jalpenos and the flavor was great but not too hot! I made this for a pot luck and everyone wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
This was so delicious!! we doubled the recipe and left out the paprika(we were out).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Not bad, but I'm thinking this could benefit by adding more cheese (or less cream). Also, our heat tolerance level being "Coward," I backed off on the jalapeno quite a bit and added finely chopped mixed color bell peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I used goat cheese instead of gruyere because it's what I had on hand and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
excellent enjoyed by entire family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I don't know what happened but this turned out not to my liking. I followed the instructions to a T and it was a complete fail.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kendall Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Belford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
LOVE this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklinville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Millersville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Potato and Parsnip Gratin

A rich gratin with potatoes, parsnips, and Parmesan cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States