Potato and Ham Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
Fantastic! I used cream of mushroom and cream of chicken because that is what I had on hand. Tossed in 1/2 of tbl of Italian seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELA43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Excellent! Made it exactly the way the recipe called for and will definitely make again and again! I make a soup similar to this only with chicken and creme cheese. I think I'll switch that one around and use the cream soups in it. Husband had extra helpings.. all the kids ate it. The only thing I would change is that I would cook the carrots and celery alone for about 10 mins then add the potatoes and onions. But other than that? It's superb the way it is! We served it with Vienna bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Simple and tasty. A nice fall/winter soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
This soup is really good. The only thing I changed is I added a little extra ham and frozen corn. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Baltimore, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
substitute potatos for rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I had some left over ham from Easter so wanted to use it up. This recipe is good but a couple of tips: I recommend sweating carrots, onion and celery for a few minutes first in a knob of butter because my potatoes were done before the other veggies. This may differ with different potatoes but I used what I had on hand - reds. 4 cups of water is MORE than enough. This cooks really quick so you dont get too much water evaporation, and the soup can end up really watery. I didn't have cream of celery so added cream of chicken, tasted pretty good. Will make again but think it through a little before just throwing everything in the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
This was awesome! Did make a few changes. I used no canned soups. Used my home made chicken broth I had frozen for soup and a small amount of Tones chicken base. (Sam's carries it.) I always thicken my light colored soups and stews with instant potato flakes and in this soup it was great! Used all the veggies plus more ham. Boiled carrots first, 10min, then added onion, celery, and potatoes. Cooked just till potatoes were tender then added ham, half and half, not cream, and about 3tblsp. butter. Stirred and cooked for about 10 min more. It was wonderful! Served in heated bowls 'cause in Colo food cools down too fast for this Texan! Thanks Tabitha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megzz

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I enjoyed the first bowl. Leftovers I found quite rich. I believe this was the canned soup. Next time, I may try a chicken stock base and add light cream after veggies are tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I'll have to agree - this is the best potato soup I've ever had! I love soup, and potato soup has always been a favorite of mine. This was so quick and easy to make that I can't believe how good it turned out. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I used a can of evaporated milk instead of heavy cream. Also added another cup of water, garlic. Used one can of cream of potato and one of cream of celery. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Meidinger

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ashley, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States