Potato and Ham Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
My 11 year old grandson worked with me in the kitchen to make this for dinner tonight. We did not change a thing and we all loved it! It is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Luikart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Loved it! Left out the carrots and the cream. I just put everything in the crockpot on high for 4 hours. I used a potatoe masher at the end to make it thicker and it turned out awesome, it didn't even need the cream. I used one can of soup and half the amount of water it called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This soup got and OMG this is good review from friends and family! I changed it alittle.. I sautéed the ham with the celery and garlic then added the potatoes. Only used 1 can of cream of celery (because it was all I had) and added some cornstarch to thicken it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Reyes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Kind of plain to my taste but my family said they liked it. Will try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Castle Rock, Washington, USA
Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Made this exactly as recipe states. Very good base but a bit bland at the end, so I added Jane's Krazy Mixed-up Salt to taste and it made it over the top. One tip, dice the potatoes small, the bit's I got with large potatoes were starchy and more bland. Will def make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa King

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Swedesboro, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This soup is AMAZING. I live in Vegas so it is just to hot to have soup a lot. I am always looking for a good hearty soup for that one day a year that might be cold enough and this one fit the bill!!! This is a great soup for a cold rainy day! I also make homemade bread bowls so each person has their own bowl. I followed the recipe EXACTLY just using salt and pepper for additional flavor. Would just like to comment to the person that gave this recipe 3 stars and didn't follow this recipe exactly. Please follow correctly before you give a negative comment. I am pretty sure that YOUR changes is the reason you didn't like this recipe. In the future follow the recipe EXACTLY before you give a negative comment! I love this recipe, will continue to make it and give away as a gift!!! Thanks for sharing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I didn't have regular potatoes so I used sweet potatoes. I also only had one can of cream of celery, which turned out fine. It seemed SUPER runny to me, so I had to add corn starch to thicken it up. 2 cups of shredded cheese helped to thicken it up to my liking too. :) Good base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Not a gourmet recipe, but SO easy! It tastes great, presents well (photo doesn't do it justice) and keeps well to, great for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEARSTARLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
My family loved this ham and potato soup! I served it with crusty dinner rolls and not a drop was left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This soup was excellent and so very easy to make, not to mention quick! I'm newly married and have had a hard time making meals my husband enjoys, and he loved this one! Thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States