Potato and Ham Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
After experimenting, I use 1/2 tsp dried tarragon, 4 tsp chicken base in the water, and no cream of celery soup. Instead I melt 1/4 cup of butter and add 1/2 cup flour. Stir over low heat for a few minutes then add to soup with one can of evaporated milk. Skip the cream. Also, your veggies will taste better if you sweat them out in a tbsp of butter before you add the broth. Only about 5-7 minutes on med low heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skeller311

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Wow, as far as ham and potato soup goes, this was by far the best I've tried. My husband found the recipe and made it with the leftover ham we had and we both couldn't believe how tasty it was. We followed the recipe exactly, except also added a bit of cayenne. When served, we cut up some cheese cubes and garnished the soup. I don't think it could get any better than this - especially since it was so easy to make and ready so quickly! YUM! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHCANADA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This is an excellent recipe. Once the vegetables were cooked, I threw in some leftover cooked broccoli that I had in the fridge. I also used evaporated milk instead of heavy cream since that is all I had on hand. I will definitely use this again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Really easy to prepare. I used condensed cream of chicken and mushroom soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NoTakeoutForMe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Lyon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
This is the easiest and the BEST I have ever tasted, my husband LOVED it, i didn't change a thing, made according to recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by johna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA
Living In: Stedman, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
UNREAL! Totally filling and tasty! I added one diced red (seeded) chili. Simple and awesome! Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Cedarburg, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Super! So yummy. I only had one can of cream of celery, so I use one of cream of chicken too. I also tried it adding a spoon of curry paste and was equally yummy. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Excellent recipe! I added some fresh minced garlic, too. Thanks Tabitha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B0nzo69

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
This was really good, I did leave out the salt and added a fiesta Mrs. Dash blend which added a little kick. Also added leeks and mushrooms, this is definately a good base that you can throw any veggies into. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This recipe is a real hit! I've done it twice in two weeks. Everyone loves it. I altered it by adding a chopped jalapeno and a half cup of slice celery. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crested Mama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States