Potato and Egg Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
I thought this recipe was great to work off of! I sliced the potatoes first, boiled them until very soft, already had the eggs cooked and cooled, fried up some pre-cooked ham, then cooked a small bit of onion & garlic & added that to my pot of sour cream and butter that was warming. I layered 1/2 the potatoes, half the eggs, half the bite sized ham pieces, half the sour cream mixture, then a small amount of sprinkled bacon pieces (store bought), season salt & paprika, & shredded cheese, & did the exact same layer again (leaving out the top layer of cheese). Cooked it for a half hour, then shredded a small layer of cheese on that, cooked it for 5-10 mins more & it looked beautiful and tasted great! It was very filling so a small serving would have been better. Even hubby thought it was really good. This took quite a bit of time to make despite having my eggs & potatoes pre-cooked, but was well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I love this! Everyone in my familyloves it. It's my favorite food. When I make it i use light Sour Cream, butter, and only egg whites. So its pretty "healthy". I love when you make the "lighter" version, you get the soupy stuff on the bottom. I love to dip rye bread in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
I used margarine & light sour cream and it was a total flop. I was told not to try again with the full fat ingredients. I really wanted this to turn out and to like it. Use the full fat ingredients & give it the best chance possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I doubled the recipe and made it for an office pot luck. It was a smashing success. I altered it based on some of the other comments: used butter, instead of margarine; added sauteed chopped onion to each layer; added shredded colby jack cheese to each layer; and I served it with fresh, spicy salsa on the side. It was divine. It is a lot of work to make two pans, much peeling and slicing and layering, but it is absolutely worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
This is the first dish I ever made as a child growing up in Hungary. I also use kielbasa in the layers. I lightly salt each potato layer and then drizzle it with some of the butter and sourcream mixture. Then pour the left over sauce on top. This year it will be part of our Christmas morning breakfast. I'll prep the night before and bake while we're opening presents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zsuzsa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tiszaujvaros, Borsod-Abaúj-Zemplén, Hungary
Living In: Chagrin Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I am Hungarian and I used to make this dish quite often, in fact this is one of my favorite. Only couple of things I would like to mention: 1. The original recipe is with sausage. You cut in circles the sausage and you put these as a layer as well. If you do this, no need for seasoning, as it will give a really nice taste to it. 2. I never heard of anybody doing it with margarine or butter. You just pour the cream on it, and mixed with the sausage it will give a very nice flavor. I found it that economizing with the cream doesn't pay off as it would end up dry, but I guess it depends on the taste as well. 3. This part is not "standard" but I used to put couple of slice of bacons on the bottom just for the more taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Budapest, Pest, Hungary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
I loved the taste, so did the family (except for the 11 year old).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARKBRECK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I lived in Hungary and I loved this dish. I believe it is called Rakott Krumpli (stacked potato).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Pretty good. It was a big hit at the potluck. I added red onion and worchester sauce for a kick. *Be sure and melt the sour cream with the butter. If you just add melted butter to the s. cream you'll get a very puffy topping that wont sink down into the dish much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
I'm Hungarian and am always looking for ethnic dishes. I made this as a side for Easter and it was a big hit. I am going to make this again but will add bacon or ham and serve as a breakfast dish for brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States