Potato and Egg Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This was horrible! My own fault, because I should have known potatoes and eggs with sour cream poured on top can not be good, but I did not expect flavors to not go at all and the runny appearance. Nobody touched it! What a waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
This recipe is pretty time consuming, so I don't know how often I'll actually make it in the future. I followed the directions for the most part & boiled the potatoes a little longer (about 22 minutes) as other reviewers had suggested. But my husband still thought they were a wee bit hard, (I thought they were fine.) I also cut the margarine to 1/2 cup as well. I added a little bacon to make it more of a main course meal, but my hubby thought it was more of a breakfast dish. It was good, I liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janalynn505

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This is quite good though really heavy (obviously, smile). I actually prefer it at room temperature because then I can taste the tanginess of the sour cream more. Since I am veggie I did not try it with kielbasa, but some kind of spicy soy meat might spice it up a bit...I did add freshly ground pepper to the top which helped, but even more kick might be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Warm, tasty comfort food. Economical and filling. Perfect for a cold night's dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara p

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This was one of the most bland and boring dishes I've ever had. I thought all the butter would make it tasty, I even added a few spices like garlic powder (just because I love garlic), but this dish just left me feeling un-fed and unimpressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Altadena, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This recipe was very good! I halved the recipe and made it in a deep dish pie baker, cause this makes way too much for just hubby and me! I added some sliced kielbasa, but think it would be much better with added onions or onion powder, pepper and maybe some sort of shredded cheese. I will probably make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bev511

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Way too much butter and sour cream. Just not the kind of recipe that people I know eat in this health conscience part of the world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
We've made this several times now and it's very tasty! We always leave out the butter (and it's not missed.) It definitely turned out better when we used a sausage which purged its fat so that it mixed nicely with the sour cream on the bottom of the bowl. Additionally, my Hungarian boyfriend seems to think it's VERY IMPORTANT that egg slices are covered with potato, otherwise they may become hard while they're in the oven. Who am I to argue? :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingwood, Texas, USA
Living In: Budapest, Pest, Hungary
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
This is well worth the time it takes to prepare. I used redskins I had cooked the previous night, but any potatos will do. I also added onion and shredded cheddar cheese. I didn't have any breakfast meats in the house, so I added bacon bits. This casserole is rich, but oh so yummy. Try adding your own ingredients to make it your own unique casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This looks very much like something my mom used to make for dad about 40 years ago.. except she put buttery toasted bread bites on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri Davenport King

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States