Potato and Cheese Pierogi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This is the one my Husband loves as it is an old family recipe similar to his mothers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tweed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bear Lake, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ray, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
My friend and I made a bunch of these last night and I loved them. We ended up making 19 (I'd scaled the recipe down to 20) and used an empty wine bottle as a rolling pin so it was really fun! We also substituted Shedd's Spread for butter and it turned out fine. One piece of advice she had from her memories of visiting Poland and watching family members make pierogies in the past was to wet one side of the inner dough like the seal of an envelope and then squeeze the edges together (one finger on the top, two on the bottom) to make a scalloped edge. This also pushed the filling in towards the center, making it easier to seal. Be careful not to overfill and make sure the potatoes don't have any large lumps because that can tear the dough. We boiled them and topped them with some golden brown sauteed onions and garlic and I brought leftovers to work. A six way fight broke out at the office over who got the last one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockaway, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
These were very good and easy to make. The dough was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janice Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trufant, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
tried these today used 3 cheese mashed potatoes with pan fried onions. They are yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mount Clemens, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I used velveta for the cheese. Family loved them!! Even the left overs were warmed up and dipped in ketchup or ranch. Yummm!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I made this recipe today. They were good but you have to add more flavor to the potato mix or pierogis' will be bland. I added garlic salt and parsley flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
sauted onions and butter is the only way to eat them. We use sharp cheddar and leave out the onion salt. I could eat these all day long. I would have given a 5 star rating is they would have said cheddar instead of processed cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
The best pierogi I have ever tasted is, but of course my mothers who is ukranian. I have tried many others from resteraunts to authentic venders,but nothin compares. The cheese that she uses is a pressed dry cottage cheese & potato mixture and to me its the only way to make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
A FEW more TIPS, yes this is the basic recipe that works well. Do not over-work the dough or it will become tougher. Put dough in the refrigerator for about a 1/2hr. and it will not be as difficult to roll out as the elasticity will decrease. It should be served by melting butter or margerine and saute with onions, pour over pierogi before serving with sour cream on the side (or fry them for a a few minutes to get a slightly browned crust). Filling can also be drained cottage cheese or farmer cheese (which is better), sweet or sour cabbage, mushrooms/sauteed/w/butter or apricot or plum filling (more of a dessert) If edges don't seal properly, apply a little water to the edge with your finger, a good seal is necessary. Dough should be as thin as possible, not like ravioli!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Welgoss

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Just wanted to share a tip that I have learned after making Pierogis for the last 10 years. Cook the potatoes until soft . Don't use a mixer to mix up the potatoes ... use a RICER and pass all the potatoes through it, then add the cheese and whatever seasoning (I use garlic powder). Mix with your hands until the mixture changes color. Also, don't fool around with the wet spoon to seal the edges. User your fingers. Isn't that part of the fun of cooking??? Let the dough rest covered at room temp before making circles. Keep the size of the dough you are working with to about the size of a grapefruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lons65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pike Creek, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Chef John's Potato Gnocchi

Chef John reveals the tricks to making perfect potato gnocchi.

Chef John's Cheater Pierogi

Discover a quick-and-easy way to make pierogi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States