Potato and Cheese Pierogi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
As a Polish girl, I had to add my 2cents.....my mother (first generation Pole), God Bless Her, always used sharp cheddar, none of this "onion salt" stuff, keep it real, and served it smothered in sauteed onions and butter.......yum.....I just needed some tips on the dough.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Yes the filling was great with sauteed onions and also was about 3x as much as the dough. It was my first time making them and my boyfriend loved them! I will make the circles bigger next time so there is more filling, I cant wait to try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Just reading the ingredient "processed" cheese makes me shiver. I have been using Farmer's cheese in my filling for over 20 years and I think it makes a huge difference in taste. This was the preference of my Ukrainian gramdmother, too. Also, I sautee finely chopped shallots in butter and add those to the filling as well. It adds more flavor than the onion salt (I think). The easiest way to fill them is to use a round biscuit cutter. Take the round cut out pieces and give them another quick roll in each direction and they will be ready to fill. Also, to seal tightly without having them leak, I keep a teaspoon in a bowl of water and very lightly moisten the inside edge with the side of the spoon before doing the "flour pinch" to close them. They freeze extremely well, but don't forget to separate the layers with either plastic wrap or wax paper! Any way you look at it, these are DELICIOUS! I can never get enough of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrishaG

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
I scaled the recipe down to 20 servings and there was still a ton ton ton. It wasn't too hard to make - there are a lot of people who say the dough is hard to work with, but it's not if you have enough flour on your rolling surface. There was definately about 3 times too much filling... I also added bacon and sauteed onions to the filling. It was soo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
I make pierogi every Christmas, and this recipe is similar. Just some tips to make things easier....after mixing dough place on floured board and put a bowl over it and let it rest for about 20 minutes. I use cheddar with the mashed potatoes, and also make a sauteed cabbage and onion filling. Boil and then saute in butter with onion added or not. Lots of work, but the whole family pitches in and we make enough for a few times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
I just wanted to add some possibly helpful info for future pierogi-makers. My family is Ukrainian, and we make these every Christmas, sometimes more. I use 6 cups of flour, and can make 40-50 4-inch or larger pierogi. We roll a ball (fits in 2 hands, not too big) flat, then cut it into squares. We then rolleach square individually as thin as possible, put in about a tbs. of filling, and fold corner to corner. When pinching the edges, you have to smear and smudge a bit. I'm sure every family has their own recipe, but this way you don't have soooo much dough in each bite. I also jazz up my filling with browned onion, s&p, and sharp cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Utica, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
The dough is easy to make and works well. I just made potato and onion filling and it was fine. I just quartered some large onions and tossed them in with the spuds. then when mashing I added some minced garlic and extra salt and pepper to taste. THen just omitted the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
The first time I made these they were OK, but a bit bland. The second time I lightly sauteed some fresh onions and added that to the mashed potatoes along with some shredded cheddar. After I boiled them and let them cool slightly I sauteed them in garlic butter. Much better and alot more flavor. I will definately make these again. My husband's family is pure Polish and they liked them. Being an outsider I am happy when they are pleased with my cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mantua, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cedarville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
This is like the recipe I use, but I use real cheddar and I add a big blob of sour cream to the dough. Also, half of them I make with sauerkraut filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATLGIRLJJ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NIKKYD20

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Chef John's Potato Gnocchi

Chef John reveals the tricks to making perfect potato gnocchi.

Chef John's Cheater Pierogi

Discover a quick-and-easy way to make pierogi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States