Potato and Cheese Filling for Pierogi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Need to add 1 egg to the mashed potatoes. Love the bacon idea that someone else suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
yummy filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I make the dough using the starchy potato water. It makes the dough very user friendly, not too springy, just right. I have been making periogies for 20 years and have found that the boiled potato water is the best for making the dough. I also add garlic powder, onion powder, dry curd cottage cheese (one full container), and aged sharp cheese to the filling to add a little different flavor. This is a real hit and a family tradition for the holidays. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This is similar to what I make but it is extremely good with 1 cup chopped onion sauted in margarine or butter then add it and the shredded cheese to the potatoes and mash together, let cool before using to fill the perogies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camrose, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
I use garlic and fresh dill mash potatoes and like mozzarella cheese instead of cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Tasted bland inside the pierogies, but great on its own. I will double the cheese if I make this again. UPDATE: I did make this again with doubled cheese and garlic powder. MUCH better flavor within pierogies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I find this to be an extremely dry, uninspired and flavorless perogi filling. You should first boil the potatoes, then mash them and add the cheese while mashing to help melt the mixture together. The mixture should become orange and hold itself together. Add 1 cup of sourcream, 4 cups of finely chopped cooked onion and 2 cups of finely chopped cooked bacon. Place inside perogi/pierogi dough, boil and freeze. Secret tip: add a small amount of the potato mixture to the dough to help them hold together while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
This is a great filling for Pierogi!! I prefer a more cheesy taste to mine, so next time I will add a bit more cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
The perfect filling for Pierogi. Very easy to prepare and fill. Tastiest when Pierogi are fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
Really good, but I added 1 1/2 of a small box of velveeta cheese...yummmmo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefLes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Chef John's Potato Gnocchi

Chef John reveals the tricks to making perfect potato gnocchi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States