Potato and Cheddar Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
Simple to make. Nice, creamy consistency. But, as a previous reviewer mentioned, the onions are still crunchy after 30 minutes simmer time (I even cooked them in the flour and butter for a couple minutes before adding the rest of the ingredients). I'd highly recommend cooking the onions in the butter first, until soft, then mixing in the flour, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
211 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Great base recipe, but I did cook this a bit differently. I sauteed my onions, along with garlic, celery and carrot. Instead of adding flour to thicken, I opted for more potatoes which worked wonderfully. Didn't see the need for the sugar and because I had it in the house, I used crisply cooked bacon instead of the ham. Once the soup was done, I turned off the heat and then added the cheese. It melted in nicely and there was no separation. Also threw in a light sprinkling of cayenne pepper. Hubby and I were both thrilled with your recipe Debbie and thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2005
This was really good. I did add more cheese. I was looking for a recipe that was like bob evans cheddar soup. This was really close. I added chopped bacon and green onion to the top and it was awsome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUCKMCNALLY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2002
this soup was very good. We all three loved it. The best potato soup I've ever had. I had to add about a half cup more cheese. If you want the potatoes to stay in "chunks" then don't boil so long after all of the ingredients are combined. Very good though. the second time i made it we left out the ham, it was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
As with every good recipe, you must add your own touch. I doubled the recipe. Sauteed the onions in the butter until soft. I prefer dishes without meat, so I used previously frozen chopped broccoli. Added lots of black pepper, celery salt, parsley and chives, to taste!! Easy and hearty!! Even my husband liked it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windham, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
My husband made this and the family absolutely loved it! He did add quite a bit more cheese to the soup than the recipe called for, though. Next time I would like the onions sauteed before adding as they were still a little crunchy for my taste. Great with crusty bread and butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
This was really good. I have made this twice so far. The second time I used chicken stock to boil the potatoes along with the onions. Our family doesn't eat pork so I jazzed the soup up with a bit of Monterrey pepper jack cheese. Perfecto. This recipe is a keeper. I think next time I'll try a gourmet version, leeks, a mix of Gruyere and white cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
This had absolutely no flavor. I had to throw it out. Bummer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
Very good. I added corn,celery,liquid smoke and carrots and sauteed the onions in the melted butter first to soften them. Next time I will substitute corn starch mixed with cold water for the flour to reduce the flour taste. It would still be a bit bland. Needs jazzed up somehow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
This was a really tasty and easy recipe, but.... I had crunchy onions, too, which kind of took away from the yumminess. I had read the reviews before starting, so I knew that had been a problem for other reviewers. When my potatoes were almost done, I melted butter in a different pot and cooked the onions for a while, then added flour, milk, potato water, potatoes, etc. I thought that I had cooked the onions enough- I guess not. I didn't simmer for 30 minutes because that would have totally broken up the cheese and milk. If you are going to try this I suggest sauteeing the onions first until you are sure they are tender- then proceed with the recipe. I used skim milk with no problems. We had this with French Country Bread- great combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States