Potato and Cheddar Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
This is a super easy soup recipe. I used a little extra buter and sauteed the onions before adding the flour and the rest of the ingredients. I don't like "crunchy" onions in soups or casseroles and I didn't think they would have time to soften up in the cooking process as written. Other than that - very tasy! Made our menu rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
It was great I added a bit more cheese and u should really cook onions before adding to soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This soup was wonderful. I added more potatoes, cheese and ham than the recipe called for but it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca Limmer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
Quick, easy potato soup recipe that came out very tasty! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Great base recipe, but I did cook this a bit differently. I sauteed my onions, along with garlic, celery and carrot. Instead of adding flour to thicken, I opted for more potatoes which worked wonderfully. Didn't see the need for the sugar and because I had it in the house, I used crisply cooked bacon instead of the ham. Once the soup was done, I turned off the heat and then added the cheese. It melted in nicely and there was no separation. Also threw in a light sprinkling of cayenne pepper. Hubby and I were both thrilled with your recipe Debbie and thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
This was very tasty! I used scallions rather than onions, which I sauteed with some diced celery and minced garlic until soft. I used smoked sausage in lieu of ham and added plenty of black pepper. This was a rich, hearty and satisfying soup! Thank you Debbie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Choteau, Montana, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
This is THE BEST recipe. Don't change a thing. Just serve with a crusty loaf of French bread and enjoy. Thanks so much for this recipe. My family LOVES IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
This was very yummy. I took a few others advice and cooked my onions along with a couple celery stalks in some butter before combining all the ingredients. I am definately gonna make this again. I am planning on trying this recipe as the base for my clam chowder and swap out the ham for some bacon. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
This was good. The only thing was that it seemed like it kind of seperated, like the cheese didn't mix in all the way. Maybe I did something wrong. I don't know. But I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
I had to double the cheese in this recipe and add some cornstarch to make it thicker. Sauteed onions for the whole time the potatoes were cooking. With these changes I would give it 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEME

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 81-90 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States