Potato and Cheddar Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I did as the others said and cooked the onions first. I used a little extra ham that was left over from a sprial cut ham and the soup was fantastic. I used 1 T less butter and flour to cut LDL which may have been why it wasn't as think as it could have been. I also cooked the potatoes until half way done then added the rest and they weren't mushy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bolson79
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
This was a good recipe to use up leftover ham! I changed a few things, based on what I had on hand. I used russet instead of red potatoes, and omitted the sugar (the leftover ham was glazed). I also sauteed the onions in butter first, then added flour. Boiled the potatoes in the same pot with the other non-dairy ingredients, then added the milk and cheese. Oh, and added some frozen corn at the end! Tasted great, really easy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bolson79

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
This was really good. I have made this twice so far. The second time I used chicken stock to boil the potatoes along with the onions. Our family doesn't eat pork so I jazzed the soup up with a bit of Monterrey pepper jack cheese. Perfecto. This recipe is a keeper. I think next time I'll try a gourmet version, leeks, a mix of Gruyere and white cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
This is a super easy soup recipe. I used a little extra buter and sauteed the onions before adding the flour and the rest of the ingredients. I don't like "crunchy" onions in soups or casseroles and I didn't think they would have time to soften up in the cooking process as written. Other than that - very tasy! Made our menu rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
It was great I added a bit more cheese and u should really cook onions before adding to soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This soup was wonderful. I added more potatoes, cheese and ham than the recipe called for but it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca Limmer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
Quick, easy potato soup recipe that came out very tasty! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Great base recipe, but I did cook this a bit differently. I sauteed my onions, along with garlic, celery and carrot. Instead of adding flour to thicken, I opted for more potatoes which worked wonderfully. Didn't see the need for the sugar and because I had it in the house, I used crisply cooked bacon instead of the ham. Once the soup was done, I turned off the heat and then added the cheese. It melted in nicely and there was no separation. Also threw in a light sprinkling of cayenne pepper. Hubby and I were both thrilled with your recipe Debbie and thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
This was very tasty! I used scallions rather than onions, which I sauteed with some diced celery and minced garlic until soft. I used smoked sausage in lieu of ham and added plenty of black pepper. This was a rich, hearty and satisfying soup! Thank you Debbie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Choteau, Montana, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
This is THE BEST recipe. Don't change a thing. Just serve with a crusty loaf of French bread and enjoy. Thanks so much for this recipe. My family LOVES IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States