Potato and Cheddar Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
great soup. I used shallots instead of onion and cooked them with garlic and butter before adding them to the soup. I added more cheese and instead of ham I used bacon. Very creamy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
lots of flavor rich & creamy. took the advise of another and sauted the onions beforehand
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I made this for dinner last night (a double batch for my little family) and it's not even noon and the soup's all gone! I think that speaks for itself. I used tapioca flour instead of AP flour because of wheat allergies and the soup turned out great. I also made sure the onions were soft after cooking in the butter, then I added the flour, then the rest of the ingredients. It only simmered about 15 minutes because we were all so hungry, and the soup smelled so good! It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
This turned out great, although I thought the amount per person was very small. I was cooking for 4 children and 2 adults, so cooked enough for 6, it wasn't enough and the children only had small portions. Cook more than you think you will need. Like others I added more cheese than the recipe called for, I doubled it. I also cooked the onions with the flour and butter before adding the potatoes. Oh and I added chicken stock to the water the potatoes were cooked in. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Very good and creamy. I used salami instead of ham because that's what I had. Also used dried onion instead of fresh. Turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinMama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I cooked the onions with some of the flour, sugar, salt and pepper. I added a dash of cajun spice and a touch of crushed red peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
This soup is very yummy. I did do a couple of changes to the recipe as others have. kept it basically the same though. I added brocolli, and cauliflower, and Velveeta cheese. I put all this together in the slowcooker, raw. I put about half a brick of cheese on the bottom first, added the ingredients, and out the other half of the brick on top as to seep trough all the veggies. I also put in turkey bacon and 2 chives and some butter so as the cheese wouldn't adhere to the slowcooker as much. It is a very tasty meal, not just a soup. I used a head of cauliflower and brocolli, and about a bag of red potatos, and a whole thing of turkey bacon. My family loves it, including my picky 8 and 13 year old children. Thank you for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
This was very good. I used someone else's suggestion of adding mashed potato flakes to thicken it and decided I wish I hadn't, but my husband thought it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Diane Boggs Colbert
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
We absolutly love this soup. I do add a chicken bouillon cube to the water you boil the potatoes in. I also saute the onion in alittle butter before adding to the soup. Delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Boggs Colbert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aston, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
This is my absolute favorite potato soup recipe! Not only do I get compliments on it, I even get requests for it! I am so glad you posted this recipe here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States