Potato and Cheddar Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This soup is REALLY good! Everyone in the house loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
This was excellent and very easy. The only thing I did different was instead of ham I added a package of real bacon bits and then I omitted the sugar. I suggest cooking the onions with the butter till soft. VERY EXCELLENT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Good but could be bland if you aren't careful. TIME SAVER: Use a ham steak sauteed with a bit of brown sugar then dice or use leftover honey baked ham and then omit the sugar MONEY SAVER: Use baking potatoes or a combination of red/bakers FOR TEXTURE: Add scallions to the top I used skim milk and this turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Great recipe. Turned out a lot better than I expected! Its restaurant grade soup. Based on the reviews, I decided to boil my onions with the potatoes so that I don't have the crunchy onion issue and it worked beautifully. I also added some steamed broccoli while it simmered. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I thought this recipe was a great base. I did add a few twists. Thank you to the other reviews. They were very helpful. First I sauteed my onions so they weren't too crunchy and I find sauteeing adds a nice flavor to the onion. I sauteed the onions in bacon fat from bacon cooked to replace the ham. I thought the crunch would really compliment the softness of the potato. I boiled the potatoes (sliced scallop style not chunked) in chicken broth instead of water, aldente. I didn't use red potato. I used a white potato that was in my pantry, which worked just fine. When putting everything together I added corn and extra cheddar. I also added a small bay leaf & some cayenne pepper for bite. I did not add the potatoes to everything until the end so I didn't hurt their shape when stirring the soup. After I added the potatoes I finished cooking them just a bit with a low simmer for about 10 minutes. Like I said, this recipe was a great base but definitely needed added flavor. When I was done I really enjoyed the soup and definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I sauteed the onions first with some butter and garlic and added some choppd bacon before combining all the ingredients and it gave it a wonderful, smoky flavor. I will definately make it again, trying out different cheeses and adding in some carrots maybe. Seriously could not stop eating it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This was FANTASTIC!!! I will make it again, and I would recommend it to anyone. Easy to make and Very Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
great soup. I used shallots instead of onion and cooked them with garlic and butter before adding them to the soup. I added more cheese and instead of ham I used bacon. Very creamy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
lots of flavor rich & creamy. took the advise of another and sauted the onions beforehand
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I made this for dinner last night (a double batch for my little family) and it's not even noon and the soup's all gone! I think that speaks for itself. I used tapioca flour instead of AP flour because of wheat allergies and the soup turned out great. I also made sure the onions were soft after cooking in the butter, then I added the flour, then the rest of the ingredients. It only simmered about 15 minutes because we were all so hungry, and the soup smelled so good! It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States