Potato and Cheddar Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Soup wasn't thick as I hoped so, maybe adding sour cream or more flour / less water would make it better. I will try another recipe instead of this one next time. Wasn't too impresses with the flavors either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I think this is delicious but it only made about 3 servings. Don't know how it would become 10? I highly recommend this but doubling or tripling. I sauteed the onions in butter like many suggested. Maybe a little too much as they browned a lot :) I also used 1% milk& its still very creamy. My potatoes were also all mushed& not in chunks any more. Please let me know how long to cook them. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I'm not sure what I did wrong but I didn't have much luck with this recipe. It was not as creamy as expected and I had to use massive amounts of salt and pepper to give it flavor. It is possible that it was user error but regardless, I will not make this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Excellent, simple and fast soup. Full of flavour. The only change I did was use thin skin potatoes and the skins on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
wonderful soup. My kids love it. The only change I made was cooking the onions along with the potatoes instead of adding them later. That way they are not crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
oh my goodness oh my goodness! this was delicious!! SO good, i ate the whole pot!! ((i cut the recipe in half)) and i know that's still a lot, but still!!! the only thing i changed was add more cheese, but that's just because i love cheese! ALSO i sauteed the onions in the butter before mixing it all together, because i read the other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TiffinyRae
Home Town: Navarre, Florida, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Add some thyme when you sautee the onions (thanks Liz and Linda), and replace the cup of potato water with beer. Yum!! Oh, and more cheese never hurt anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
I didn't follow the recipe precisely... I used Colby Jack cheese instead of cheddar, and accidentally added more rosemary than I meant to. If I decide to make this again, I will definitely use cheddar. Also, the consistency seemed to be more like a corn chowder than a creamy soup. Not sure why mine came out like that, but the boyfriend loved it anyway. Hopefully I can make a better batch the second time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justsmilestevie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I COOKED THIS AND LOVED IT. SUGGESTION TOP WITH REAL BACON BITS AND OH SO GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warrenton, Missouri, USA
Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
I have made this on several occasions, my whole family love's it.!! I've made it with bacon and with ham, we like both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States