Potato and Cheddar Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Wonderful, tasty, comfort food type soup for a chilly day. I changed it up a bit, cooked the onions in butter till soft, then added the other ingredients. Omitted sugar, didn't see a need for it. Will definitely be making again, maybe adding some bacon and parmesan cheese for additional flavor. Appreciate the recipe! A great way to use up leftover ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I followed this exactly as the recipe- excluding the ham- and I find that it is a good soup base. But I had to add some extra seasoning with it to make it to my taste. Thanks for sharing and I am intending to keep it as it is simple and quick and you can easily build off of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zahra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nevada, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
I substituted Velveeta for part of the cheese because it melts better. Added a bit of cayenne and dry mustard with the flour. And sprinkled a bit of Tabasco in the bowl. It was terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
We loved this-picky kids included. Only changes--didn't have red potatoes, so used Idaho's, and one daughter is a vegetarian so left off the ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Good flavour! I would've like the broth to be just a bit thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I fixed this for a neighbor and they loved it. It is the best soup that I have ever eaten and my best friend thought so too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
I wanted to make this but didn't have potatoes - so I substituted 2 cups plain straight-cut frozen french fries that I had thawed and chopped into bite sized pieces. I also used a cup of frozen corn instead of ham, and added about a cup more cheese. I had to boil it for quite a while for the french fries to become tender but they held together so well and it was amazing! We all loved it and now my kids ask for "french fry soup" ALL the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Love this, don't change a thing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Soup wasn't thick as I hoped so, maybe adding sour cream or more flour / less water would make it better. I will try another recipe instead of this one next time. Wasn't too impresses with the flavors either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I think this is delicious but it only made about 3 servings. Don't know how it would become 10? I highly recommend this but doubling or tripling. I sauteed the onions in butter like many suggested. Maybe a little too much as they browned a lot :) I also used 1% milk& its still very creamy. My potatoes were also all mushed& not in chunks any more. Please let me know how long to cook them. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States