Potato and Cheddar Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
This was ok. Wasn't has creamy or hearty as I would have hoped, but easy and satisfying on a rainy day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
This was a great and easy idea for my children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robwh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clear Lake, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This was ok. My came out more white than yellow. I think we would have enjoyed it more if I had used an immersion blender and smoothed out the potatoes. I plan to try it again and not give up on the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Amazing!!!! Added some cayenne pepper, chives, and garlic powder. In the future, I'm going to see what this tastes like with bacon and broccoli. Mmmmm....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This is pretty much the same recipe I got from my high school foods teacher years ago. The first time I made it I did not have enough milk so I used 2 cans cream of mushroom soup and about 1 cup milk. I leave the skins on, peeling off only impurities. I also saute the onions in a little olive oil with fresh crimini mushrooms and garlic. This soup is really versitile, if I have fresh carrots and celery on hand I add some in. My husband raved about this soup! He not only went back for seconds, but thirds as well. Great cold weather dinner soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Liberty Center, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This was great! I did a few things differently. I added about 3 cups of cheese, fresh finely diced garlic, and I boiled the potatoes in chicken stock instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I recalculated this recipe for 5 servings and made this soup last night. I barely had enough for my husband and I. The soup was very good and I will make it again. The soup needs quite a bit of salt and pepper to bring out the flavor. 5 stars for ease and taste but only 0 star for serving size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I cooked my potatoes with 1 cup water and 1 cup low sodium chicken broth. I also added a can of corn. Made it really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OrdinaryLauren

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
This had a delicious flavor, but my soup had kind of a gritty texture. I have a gas stove, so I wonder if simmering the full 30 minutes made it separate. :( It went really well with Beer Bread I on this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dariqueen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Wonderful, tasty, comfort food type soup for a chilly day. I changed it up a bit, cooked the onions in butter till soft, then added the other ingredients. Omitted sugar, didn't see a need for it. Will definitely be making again, maybe adding some bacon and parmesan cheese for additional flavor. Appreciate the recipe! A great way to use up leftover ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States