Potato and Cheddar Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
This was very yummy. I took a few others advice and cooked my onions along with a couple celery stalks in some butter before combining all the ingredients. I am definately gonna make this again. I am planning on trying this recipe as the base for my clam chowder and swap out the ham for some bacon. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
This was good. The only thing was that it seemed like it kind of seperated, like the cheese didn't mix in all the way. Maybe I did something wrong. I don't know. But I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
I had to double the cheese in this recipe and add some cornstarch to make it thicker. Sauteed onions for the whole time the potatoes were cooking. With these changes I would give it 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEME

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
This had absolutely no flavor. I had to throw it out. Bummer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
This was a really tasty and easy recipe, but.... I had crunchy onions, too, which kind of took away from the yumminess. I had read the reviews before starting, so I knew that had been a problem for other reviewers. When my potatoes were almost done, I melted butter in a different pot and cooked the onions for a while, then added flour, milk, potato water, potatoes, etc. I thought that I had cooked the onions enough- I guess not. I didn't simmer for 30 minutes because that would have totally broken up the cheese and milk. If you are going to try this I suggest sauteeing the onions first until you are sure they are tender- then proceed with the recipe. I used skim milk with no problems. We had this with French Country Bread- great combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
Very good. I added corn,celery,liquid smoke and carrots and sauteed the onions in the melted butter first to soften them. Next time I will substitute corn starch mixed with cold water for the flour to reduce the flour taste. It would still be a bit bland. Needs jazzed up somehow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
It was great!!! My husband and son love it. I put 2 cups of cheese in and it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
As with every good recipe, you must add your own touch. I doubled the recipe. Sauteed the onions in the butter until soft. I prefer dishes without meat, so I used previously frozen chopped broccoli. Added lots of black pepper, celery salt, parsley and chives, to taste!! Easy and hearty!! Even my husband liked it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windham, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
This recipe was good. I did not have ham, so I threw in some bacon bits that I had on hand. I also added some ham flavoring that was left over from a soup mix and put in some pepper jack cheese. It was very satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
It only gets 4 stars because it needs more cheese, at least 2 cups. I just throw tons of Velveeta in there and leave out the ham. My husband loves this soup, and its very easy to make. Be sure to saute the onions first in the butter, and don't let it go too long or the potatoes will start to break up, but its delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Foley, Alabama, USA
Living In: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States