Potato and Cheddar Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I did as the others said and cooked the onions first. I used a little extra ham that was left over from a sprial cut ham and the soup was fantastic. I used 1 T less butter and flour to cut LDL which may have been why it wasn't as think as it could have been. I also cooked the potatoes until half way done then added the rest and they weren't mushy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bolson79
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
This was a good recipe to use up leftover ham! I changed a few things, based on what I had on hand. I used russet instead of red potatoes, and omitted the sugar (the leftover ham was glazed). I also sauteed the onions in butter first, then added flour. Boiled the potatoes in the same pot with the other non-dairy ingredients, then added the milk and cheese. Oh, and added some frozen corn at the end! Tasted great, really easy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bolson79

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
This was really good. I have made this twice so far. The second time I used chicken stock to boil the potatoes along with the onions. Our family doesn't eat pork so I jazzed the soup up with a bit of Monterrey pepper jack cheese. Perfecto. This recipe is a keeper. I think next time I'll try a gourmet version, leeks, a mix of Gruyere and white cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
This is a super easy soup recipe. I used a little extra buter and sauteed the onions before adding the flour and the rest of the ingredients. I don't like "crunchy" onions in soups or casseroles and I didn't think they would have time to soften up in the cooking process as written. Other than that - very tasy! Made our menu rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
It was great I added a bit more cheese and u should really cook onions before adding to soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This soup was wonderful. I added more potatoes, cheese and ham than the recipe called for but it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca Limmer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
Quick, easy potato soup recipe that came out very tasty! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Great base recipe, but I did cook this a bit differently. I sauteed my onions, along with garlic, celery and carrot. Instead of adding flour to thicken, I opted for more potatoes which worked wonderfully. Didn't see the need for the sugar and because I had it in the house, I used crisply cooked bacon instead of the ham. Once the soup was done, I turned off the heat and then added the cheese. It melted in nicely and there was no separation. Also threw in a light sprinkling of cayenne pepper. Hubby and I were both thrilled with your recipe Debbie and thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
This was very tasty! I used scallions rather than onions, which I sauteed with some diced celery and minced garlic until soft. I used smoked sausage in lieu of ham and added plenty of black pepper. This was a rich, hearty and satisfying soup! Thank you Debbie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Choteau, Montana, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
This is THE BEST recipe. Don't change a thing. Just serve with a crusty loaf of French bread and enjoy. Thanks so much for this recipe. My family LOVES IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States