Potato and Cheddar Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This is a good starter recipe for potato cheddar soup. As mentioned by several reviewers it definitely needs a few extras to improve the flavor which would otherwise be very bland. I have a few tips that made the soup very tasty. I always start my potato soups with mashed potatoes; it gives the soup a nice thick texture. I used crisp bacon, 2 cups of sliced carrots as well as the water I had used to boil them, about a half cup sauteed onions, a tablespoon of chicken broth, and a teaspoon of parsley. With plenty of soup making experience now, I also have a tip regarding the cheese. I put the soup on a low heat to let the flavors blend and at that time sprinkled a few tablespoons of the cheese at a time to give it a chance to melt in. Once it's melted in, give it a stir and add a few more tablespoons until it's all added (as a novice soup maker, I made the mistake of sprinkling all of the cheese in at once and ended up with one lumpy mess of a soup; the cheese all clumped together and ended up very gummy, it was terrible).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Christmas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
This was a great recipe! Like a lot of the other reviews, I cooked the onions in the butter before I added it to the soup. It was a delicious hearty soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jami Lyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norman Park, Georgia, USA
Living In: Statesboro, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Good soup - husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Enjoyable soup. I added some parsley, oregano and basil to the soup to give it a little more flavor. I also used smoked sausage instead of ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Walter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chittenango, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I was very impressed with how easy this was and how good it came out. I used all my left-overs from Christmas dinner! The only changes that I made were I added the onions at the same time as the potoatoes so they softened. And, I added left-over asparagus half-way through which added a great taste. This came out very creamy and flavorful. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Very easy to make - especailly to someone who is not a chef. I also sauted the onions in the butter, first. It made them a little softer for the soup. My husband just loved it! It will definitely be a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This was a very yummy soup, but I felt that it was lacking something I couldn't quite put my finger on - that is why I gave it 4 stars. I did sautee the onions in the butter with a little garlic until soft as other reviewers suggested, then added the flour and cooked out the raw flavor of it for a minute, before adding it to the milk, potatoes and other ingredients. I also doubled the cheese and skipped the sugar. It was quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This recipe was too plain for me, but easy to make and a good base to work with. I used scallions instead of onions. Next time I'd use a sharp cheddar and more of it, 1/2 milk and 1/2 cream, and add some seasonings like garlic powder and onion powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
Absolutely Loved this soup. Made a few changes after reading some of the reviews. Thank you guys! This is what I did - Add 4 cups of water and potatoes instead. Sautee onions and 1.5 tsp gartlic in butter until tender and add to mixture when adding everything else. Add 1 more TBSP of flour and 1 TBSP of corn starch to thicken soup. Add more cheese, just because we love cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Giggles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
I used my leftover mashed potatoes from Easter dinner and leftover ham. It turned out great and kept me from pitching out the leftovers (we were getting tired of them!) The mashed potatoes had 2-3 garlic cloves crushed in them, sour cream and cream cheese. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA
Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States