Potato and Cheddar Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Enjoyable soup. I added some parsley, oregano and basil to the soup to give it a little more flavor. I also used smoked sausage instead of ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chittenango, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I was very impressed with how easy this was and how good it came out. I used all my left-overs from Christmas dinner! The only changes that I made were I added the onions at the same time as the potoatoes so they softened. And, I added left-over asparagus half-way through which added a great taste. This came out very creamy and flavorful. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Very easy to make - especailly to someone who is not a chef. I also sauted the onions in the butter, first. It made them a little softer for the soup. My husband just loved it! It will definitely be a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This was a very yummy soup, but I felt that it was lacking something I couldn't quite put my finger on - that is why I gave it 4 stars. I did sautee the onions in the butter with a little garlic until soft as other reviewers suggested, then added the flour and cooked out the raw flavor of it for a minute, before adding it to the milk, potatoes and other ingredients. I also doubled the cheese and skipped the sugar. It was quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This recipe was too plain for me, but easy to make and a good base to work with. I used scallions instead of onions. Next time I'd use a sharp cheddar and more of it, 1/2 milk and 1/2 cream, and add some seasonings like garlic powder and onion powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
Absolutely Loved this soup. Made a few changes after reading some of the reviews. Thank you guys! This is what I did - Add 4 cups of water and potatoes instead. Sautee onions and 1.5 tsp gartlic in butter until tender and add to mixture when adding everything else. Add 1 more TBSP of flour and 1 TBSP of corn starch to thicken soup. Add more cheese, just because we love cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Giggles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
I used my leftover mashed potatoes from Easter dinner and leftover ham. It turned out great and kept me from pitching out the leftovers (we were getting tired of them!) The mashed potatoes had 2-3 garlic cloves crushed in them, sour cream and cream cheese. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA
Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I did as the others said and cooked the onions first. I used a little extra ham that was left over from a sprial cut ham and the soup was fantastic. I used 1 T less butter and flour to cut LDL which may have been why it wasn't as think as it could have been. I also cooked the potatoes until half way done then added the rest and they weren't mushy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bolson79
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
This was a good recipe to use up leftover ham! I changed a few things, based on what I had on hand. I used russet instead of red potatoes, and omitted the sugar (the leftover ham was glazed). I also sauteed the onions in butter first, then added flour. Boiled the potatoes in the same pot with the other non-dairy ingredients, then added the milk and cheese. Oh, and added some frozen corn at the end! Tasted great, really easy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bolson79

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
This was really good. I have made this twice so far. The second time I used chicken stock to boil the potatoes along with the onions. Our family doesn't eat pork so I jazzed the soup up with a bit of Monterrey pepper jack cheese. Perfecto. This recipe is a keeper. I think next time I'll try a gourmet version, leeks, a mix of Gruyere and white cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States