Potato and Cheddar Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
This turned out great, although I thought the amount per person was very small. I was cooking for 4 children and 2 adults, so cooked enough for 6, it wasn't enough and the children only had small portions. Cook more than you think you will need. Like others I added more cheese than the recipe called for, I doubled it. I also cooked the onions with the flour and butter before adding the potatoes. Oh and I added chicken stock to the water the potatoes were cooked in. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Very good and creamy. I used salami instead of ham because that's what I had. Also used dried onion instead of fresh. Turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinMama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I cooked the onions with some of the flour, sugar, salt and pepper. I added a dash of cajun spice and a touch of crushed red peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
This soup is very yummy. I did do a couple of changes to the recipe as others have. kept it basically the same though. I added brocolli, and cauliflower, and Velveeta cheese. I put all this together in the slowcooker, raw. I put about half a brick of cheese on the bottom first, added the ingredients, and out the other half of the brick on top as to seep trough all the veggies. I also put in turkey bacon and 2 chives and some butter so as the cheese wouldn't adhere to the slowcooker as much. It is a very tasty meal, not just a soup. I used a head of cauliflower and brocolli, and about a bag of red potatos, and a whole thing of turkey bacon. My family loves it, including my picky 8 and 13 year old children. Thank you for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
This was very good. I used someone else's suggestion of adding mashed potato flakes to thicken it and decided I wish I hadn't, but my husband thought it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Diane Marie
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
We absolutly love this soup. I do add a chicken bouillon cube to the water you boil the potatoes in. I also saute the onion in alittle butter before adding to the soup. Delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aston, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
This is my absolute favorite potato soup recipe! Not only do I get compliments on it, I even get requests for it! I am so glad you posted this recipe here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This is a good starter recipe for potato cheddar soup. As mentioned by several reviewers it definitely needs a few extras to improve the flavor which would otherwise be very bland. I have a few tips that made the soup very tasty. I always start my potato soups with mashed potatoes; it gives the soup a nice thick texture. I used crisp bacon, 2 cups of sliced carrots as well as the water I had used to boil them, about a half cup sauteed onions, a tablespoon of chicken broth, and a teaspoon of parsley. With plenty of soup making experience now, I also have a tip regarding the cheese. I put the soup on a low heat to let the flavors blend and at that time sprinkled a few tablespoons of the cheese at a time to give it a chance to melt in. Once it's melted in, give it a stir and add a few more tablespoons until it's all added (as a novice soup maker, I made the mistake of sprinkling all of the cheese in at once and ended up with one lumpy mess of a soup; the cheese all clumped together and ended up very gummy, it was terrible).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ForeverChristmas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
This was a great recipe! Like a lot of the other reviews, I cooked the onions in the butter before I added it to the soup. It was a delicious hearty soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jami Lyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norman Park, Georgia, USA
Living In: Statesboro, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Good soup - husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States