Potato and Cheddar Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I REALLY enjoyed this recipe. My husband and best friend had never tried a potato soup before, and they raved about it. I, being allergic to onions, had to omit that, but did saute them on the side for the others to eat. I also added crumbled bacon with the ham, more cheese and LOTS of black pepper. Had a beautiful consistency and great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reykjavík, Höfuðborgarsvæði, Iceland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
this reciepe was great. i added some spinach and extra cheese to it though........... the boyfreind who never eats soup loved it and went for seconds.........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
This is a wonderful soup! I omitted the ham and just topped it with crispy bacon pieces, green onion and shredded cheese. All the family loved it! Thank you Debbie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This soup is REALLY good! Everyone in the house loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
This was excellent and very easy. The only thing I did different was instead of ham I added a package of real bacon bits and then I omitted the sugar. I suggest cooking the onions with the butter till soft. VERY EXCELLENT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Good but could be bland if you aren't careful. TIME SAVER: Use a ham steak sauteed with a bit of brown sugar then dice or use leftover honey baked ham and then omit the sugar MONEY SAVER: Use baking potatoes or a combination of red/bakers FOR TEXTURE: Add scallions to the top I used skim milk and this turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Great recipe. Turned out a lot better than I expected! Its restaurant grade soup. Based on the reviews, I decided to boil my onions with the potatoes so that I don't have the crunchy onion issue and it worked beautifully. I also added some steamed broccoli while it simmered. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I thought this recipe was a great base. I did add a few twists. Thank you to the other reviews. They were very helpful. First I sauteed my onions so they weren't too crunchy and I find sauteeing adds a nice flavor to the onion. I sauteed the onions in bacon fat from bacon cooked to replace the ham. I thought the crunch would really compliment the softness of the potato. I boiled the potatoes (sliced scallop style not chunked) in chicken broth instead of water, aldente. I didn't use red potato. I used a white potato that was in my pantry, which worked just fine. When putting everything together I added corn and extra cheddar. I also added a small bay leaf & some cayenne pepper for bite. I did not add the potatoes to everything until the end so I didn't hurt their shape when stirring the soup. After I added the potatoes I finished cooking them just a bit with a low simmer for about 10 minutes. Like I said, this recipe was a great base but definitely needed added flavor. When I was done I really enjoyed the soup and definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I sauteed the onions first with some butter and garlic and added some choppd bacon before combining all the ingredients and it gave it a wonderful, smoky flavor. I will definately make it again, trying out different cheeses and adding in some carrots maybe. Seriously could not stop eating it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This was FANTASTIC!!! I will make it again, and I would recommend it to anyone. Easy to make and Very Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States