Potato and Cheddar Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I'm not sure what I did wrong but I didn't have much luck with this recipe. It was not as creamy as expected and I had to use massive amounts of salt and pepper to give it flavor. It is possible that it was user error but regardless, I will not make this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Excellent, simple and fast soup. Full of flavour. The only change I did was use thin skin potatoes and the skins on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
wonderful soup. My kids love it. The only change I made was cooking the onions along with the potatoes instead of adding them later. That way they are not crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
oh my goodness oh my goodness! this was delicious!! SO good, i ate the whole pot!! ((i cut the recipe in half)) and i know that's still a lot, but still!!! the only thing i changed was add more cheese, but that's just because i love cheese! ALSO i sauteed the onions in the butter before mixing it all together, because i read the other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TiffinyRae
Home Town: Navarre, Florida, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Add some thyme when you sautee the onions (thanks Liz and Linda), and replace the cup of potato water with beer. Yum!! Oh, and more cheese never hurt anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
I didn't follow the recipe precisely... I used Colby Jack cheese instead of cheddar, and accidentally added more rosemary than I meant to. If I decide to make this again, I will definitely use cheddar. Also, the consistency seemed to be more like a corn chowder than a creamy soup. Not sure why mine came out like that, but the boyfriend loved it anyway. Hopefully I can make a better batch the second time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justsmilestevie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I COOKED THIS AND LOVED IT. SUGGESTION TOP WITH REAL BACON BITS AND OH SO GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warrenton, Missouri, USA
Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
I have made this on several occasions, my whole family love's it.!! I've made it with bacon and with ham, we like both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Simply amazing!! My whole family loved it! I only had a couple of problems with it though. I made it for (supposedly) 10 servings, and it turned out to only be enough for 3! I don't know if anyone else had this problem, but I will surely double up on the ingredients. I also added my own personal touch (;
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
I enjoyed this recipe...I boiled the potatoes in low sodium chicken broth to add some flavor...I also did bacon and ham....but I added the bacon just to the end before serving. Also, added some chopped carrots to the sauteed onions. Had to substitute the red potatoes for regular ones due to my son being allergic to red potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States