Potato and Cheddar Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I followed other recommendations. Sauteed onions in butter till onions were soft then mixed it into soup. Add green beans for more flavor and substance. Added extra cheddar and colby cheese. Didn't have ham so I added bacon at the end. Very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melodie Savoca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Margate, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
AWESOME!! Easy to make just don't over cook your potatoes or the base will be gritty. I put more ham and more chedder in mine for more flavor. Wonderful tho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This did not have much flavor. It would require mounds of cheese (& salt & pepper) just to make it flavorful and I don't want that many calories in my bowl of soup. If you do choose to make this do not use skim milk because it will have a thin consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Family really liked it. However, directions are a bit lacking. Recipe calls for 2 cups of water, reserves 1 cup of potato water, but only adds the reserved cup back in. Step 2 says to stir in butter, onion and flour. The term "stir in" implies adding to something. This needs to be clarified. Onions should be "sauteed" in butter prior to being added to the rest of the ingredients. I also added a teaspoon of minced garlic to the onions while sauteing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
This soup was outstanding! I doubled the recipe because I love soup. I didn't skin the potatoes because I like the pop of color, the additional fiber, and to avoid wasting food. I also followed others suggestions to cook the onions in butter prior to adding the flour and the other items. The onions did have a soft crunch, which I liked, but not sure how much different they would be if I had followed the directions as Debbie listed. I did follow others suggestions to add more cheese. I used about 50% more (so double called for 2 cups and I put in an additional cup or a little more). When I poured all milk and reserved water in pot, I was a bit concerned with the consistency, but the instructions to simmer and stir for at least 30 min was important to follow in making the soup a part-brothy, part-thick consistency. I hope you enjoy as much as we did. Thank you Debbie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I followed this recipe from start to finish, didn't change a thing, and it's possibly the best potato soup I've ever had! If you've never made this recipe before, don't add a lot of stuff to it, it doesn't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paxton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Simple recipe. I added more salt and cheese. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
What an easy recipe! Very good and very filling. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlefriend

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
I made this for dinner tonight for the second time. I pretty much made it just like described but I added a dash of seasoned salt and a bit of velveta along with the cheddar cheese. When I made it the first time it really wasn't enough for my family of 3 adults. This time I doubled it and we even have a bit leftover. We really enjoy it along with some corn bread for dinner on rainy nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Catonsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Halethorpe, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States