Potato and Cheddar Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
This was a nice enough soup, but didn't make a big enough impression on me or my family for me to make it again. We all felt it lacked something. I used smoked ham and did toy with the idea of addng some garlic powder. Maybe I should have. Thanks for letting me try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
I served this soup for a dinner meeting & everyone just raved about it.They all had to have the recipe.We enjoy it @ home too.It's really very easy & is gtreat to heat up on cold winter nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
Well, the soup tasted good but my consistancy was off. it was thick but not creamy. I can't really explain the end result. I wont make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
Great Soup!! Hearty! I used bacon instead of ham and it was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
This was okay. I didn't like the texture. I though the leftovers would be better after it sat, but it wasn't. I will probably not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
Great did add some bacon. a real keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
Simple to make. Nice, creamy consistency. But, as a previous reviewer mentioned, the onions are still crunchy after 30 minutes simmer time (I even cooked them in the flour and butter for a couple minutes before adding the rest of the ingredients). I'd highly recommend cooking the onions in the butter first, until soft, then mixing in the flour, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
215 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
Nice combination, and makes nice leftovers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEVE50613

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
My husband made this and the family absolutely loved it! He did add quite a bit more cheese to the soup than the recipe called for, though. Next time I would like the onions sauteed before adding as they were still a little crunchy for my taste. Great with crusty bread and butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
Good stuff! I did everything as stated, except I didn't use the ham, instead I used crumbled bacon as a garnish. Also, I used my stick blender at the end because I wanted a smooth consistency. Even the baby ate it. Thanks for a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States