Potato and Cheddar Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Joanna Baldon
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
This recipe was easy to follow and the soup was delicious! I of course doubled up on the ingredients to make more for my family. I also added corn to it and it was great! I added more potatoes, I didn't have ham so I made it without and it still tasted great. I didn't use sugar also. Also I used more salt and pepper (to my perfection). Also used way more cheese. Great soup! Must try! I will be making again one day. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanna Baldon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
We love this soup - especially on a chilly night. I like to sauté the onions first for more flavor, and then put them aside while I cook the potatoes. The recipe is easy to double or even triple if you have a crowd. Garnish with green onions, a little shredded cheese and bacon bits - divine! I use a seasoned sea salt and lots of cracked black pepper for a little more depth of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
This was an awesome soup. Upon completion I felt it needed more cheese and some kind of green spice so I added an extra cup of cheddar and 1 tablespoon of oregano. All my fiancee complained about was that i didn't make enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roadrunner1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I made this soup last night exactly as written and it was the best potato soup recipe I have found. Grated more cheese on top of the soup when it was in the bowls. I think I will add bacon next time instead of ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This is my absolute favorite soup!! I have made this many times. I usually put extra cheese and potatoes and usually end up doubling the recipe. I never have left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I really love this recipe. I did brown the onions in butter as recommend by others. The longer it cook the better it taste. I use this as a crockpot meal. Very good as a second day lunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by redbean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Very easy recipe to make and the family loved it. I modified it slightly substituting 8 pieces of bacon for the ham. Also doubled the amount of cheese. The only complaint from the family was I didn't make enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Bacon instead of Ham. 2 cups Milk instead of 3. Makes it thicker & more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
Just made this for the first time tonight. Skipped the onions and sugar and substituted chicken for ham and it's still delicious! I'm a plain Jane when it comes to food so this was perfect, and not hard to make! Definitely will make it again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kmommysue
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Out of necessity, I used evaporated milk. Based on some of the reviews, I left out the flour and the sugar and cooked the potatoes in chicken broth. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States