Potato and Cheddar Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
I had to do a minor alteration for allergies. I left out the ham. I didn't have a meat substitute so I added a little extra cheese and I substituted water for beef broth. I made this because I was looking for drinkable soups. Made it and pureed it in the blender. OMG! This is SO good! Five stars! I am making a bigger batch of this for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dotchi Latham

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Libby, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
Makes less than 10 servings. I boiled the russet potatoes (on hand) in chicken stock. Fried the onion before adding in all other ingredients *Thank you reviewers*. Didn't have ham so added bacon towards the end. Read a review that said added a cup of beer rather than reserved liquids might try that next time, also another that added garlic to the fried onion. Reserve a small amount of uncooked onion, cut up bacon and shredded cheese for garnish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Very simple recipe. I added garlic powder to mine and omitted the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Reaves

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joanna Baldon
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
This recipe was easy to follow and the soup was delicious! I of course doubled up on the ingredients to make more for my family. I also added corn to it and it was great! I added more potatoes, I didn't have ham so I made it without and it still tasted great. I didn't use sugar also. Also I used more salt and pepper (to my perfection). Also used way more cheese. Great soup! Must try! I will be making again one day. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanna Baldon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
We love this soup - especially on a chilly night. I like to sauté the onions first for more flavor, and then put them aside while I cook the potatoes. The recipe is easy to double or even triple if you have a crowd. Garnish with green onions, a little shredded cheese and bacon bits - divine! I use a seasoned sea salt and lots of cracked black pepper for a little more depth of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
This was an awesome soup. Upon completion I felt it needed more cheese and some kind of green spice so I added an extra cup of cheddar and 1 tablespoon of oregano. All my fiancee complained about was that i didn't make enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roadrunner1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I made this soup last night exactly as written and it was the best potato soup recipe I have found. Grated more cheese on top of the soup when it was in the bowls. I think I will add bacon next time instead of ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This is my absolute favorite soup!! I have made this many times. I usually put extra cheese and potatoes and usually end up doubling the recipe. I never have left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I really love this recipe. I did brown the onions in butter as recommend by others. The longer it cook the better it taste. I use this as a crockpot meal. Very good as a second day lunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by redbean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Very easy recipe to make and the family loved it. I modified it slightly substituting 8 pieces of bacon for the ham. Also doubled the amount of cheese. The only complaint from the family was I didn't make enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States