Potato and Cauliflower Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
This recipe was really good, I made it exactly as written and served it with baked fish, coleslaw and steamed green beans. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Geordie in Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Very heavy. Used milk instead of cream, 4 potatoes and 1/2 head cauliflower with cheddar cheese. Good but rich and too much quantity for 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I liked the cheese/cream sauce as a base but I thought it was too bland. I even added some marjoram and old bay but I guess it wasn't enough. I used russet potatoes and found I needed about four to balance the whole head of cauliflower. Also it a lil took longer to steam/boil potatos but that was ok. My fiance really liked this dish so I might try again but I would really like to find a good spice blend. Also I wanted to point out that I found heavy cream could be substituted with 3/4c milk and 1/4c butter, which is what I ended up using with freshly shredded swiss cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by habanerolover
Home Town: Washington Court House, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
made this with no revisions many times; loved it. good as leftovers, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Pretty good, but could use a little oomph. The Swiss I bought to make the casserole was halfway gone by the time I got around to making this dish, so I used Swiss in the casserole and Italian blend on top. Also sprinkled with bread crumbs and broiled for a minute or two at the end of the baking time. I did have to use more liquid for the sauce; very thick. This calls for 3-3-1 butter-flour-milk and I usually at least start with 1-1-1. Next time: use half potatoes and half cauliflower; add onions and celery; maybe mushrooms. This is a good base recipe for a veggie casserole and offers good instructions. Oh, and I managed to use one pan plus my steamer (plus the casserole dish, of course). Not that I'm lazy or anything...but honestly, this uses a lot of pans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
This came out really well. The only change I made was to use white cheddar cheese instead of swiss. Served it with pork steak. Next time I may just cube the steak and mix it into the casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lzhuber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okeene, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
This was really tasty and quite filling but I think to make it more flavourful you should consider a few adjustments. What I did: sprinkled bread crumbs, cayenne pepper, garlic powder and rosemary on top and broiled for 2 min at the end to give it a crispy crust. Also, I used milk, not cream, and added about a 1/4 c. coconut milk to the sauce to increase the creaminess. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
This is just a basic Mornay sauce over vegetables. Simple and good as a side dish. There isn't any need to add anything else (not even salt), but if you wanted to kick up the flavours a bit, I would suggest adding a tsp of dijon mustard (or even yellow mustard) to kick up the cheese). 1/2 tsp of ground sage would also intensify the flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darling

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
This is a good recipe, but a little bland as is. I used milk instead of heavy cream, and added a little more for moisture. I think next time I will add nutmeg for flavor. Overall a good side dish though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
This recipe was great! Its really easy to prepare and a nice change from the same old sides! The only change I made was using milk instead of cream and chedder instead of swiss. I WILL be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Oakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States