Potato and Cauliflower Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
This recipe was really good, I made it exactly as written and served it with baked fish, coleslaw and steamed green beans. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Geordie in Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Very heavy. Used milk instead of cream, 4 potatoes and 1/2 head cauliflower with cheddar cheese. Good but rich and too much quantity for 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I liked the cheese/cream sauce as a base but I thought it was too bland. I even added some marjoram and old bay but I guess it wasn't enough. I used russet potatoes and found I needed about four to balance the whole head of cauliflower. Also it a lil took longer to steam/boil potatos but that was ok. My fiance really liked this dish so I might try again but I would really like to find a good spice blend. Also I wanted to point out that I found heavy cream could be substituted with 3/4c milk and 1/4c butter, which is what I ended up using with freshly shredded swiss cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by habanerolover
Home Town: Washington Court House, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
made this with no revisions many times; loved it. good as leftovers, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Pretty good, but could use a little oomph. The Swiss I bought to make the casserole was halfway gone by the time I got around to making this dish, so I used Swiss in the casserole and Italian blend on top. Also sprinkled with bread crumbs and broiled for a minute or two at the end of the baking time. I did have to use more liquid for the sauce; very thick. This calls for 3-3-1 butter-flour-milk and I usually at least start with 1-1-1. Next time: use half potatoes and half cauliflower; add onions and celery; maybe mushrooms. This is a good base recipe for a veggie casserole and offers good instructions. Oh, and I managed to use one pan plus my steamer (plus the casserole dish, of course). Not that I'm lazy or anything...but honestly, this uses a lot of pans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
This came out really well. The only change I made was to use white cheddar cheese instead of swiss. Served it with pork steak. Next time I may just cube the steak and mix it into the casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lzhuber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okeene, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
This was really tasty and quite filling but I think to make it more flavourful you should consider a few adjustments. What I did: sprinkled bread crumbs, cayenne pepper, garlic powder and rosemary on top and broiled for 2 min at the end to give it a crispy crust. Also, I used milk, not cream, and added about a 1/4 c. coconut milk to the sauce to increase the creaminess. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
This is just a basic Mornay sauce over vegetables. Simple and good as a side dish. There isn't any need to add anything else (not even salt), but if you wanted to kick up the flavours a bit, I would suggest adding a tsp of dijon mustard (or even yellow mustard) to kick up the cheese). 1/2 tsp of ground sage would also intensify the flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darling

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
This is a good recipe, but a little bland as is. I used milk instead of heavy cream, and added a little more for moisture. I think next time I will add nutmeg for flavor. Overall a good side dish though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
This recipe was great! Its really easy to prepare and a nice change from the same old sides! The only change I made was using milk instead of cream and chedder instead of swiss. I WILL be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Oakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States