Potato and Broccoli Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
I give it 5 stars with the right modifications. Boiling the potatoes for a few minutes is a must. I used one can cream of broccoli and one can cream of mushroom. I also added 2 cloves minced garlic and 1 small chopped onion. Instead of saltine crackers, I mixed half a box of Stove Top stuffing with some melted butter and used that for the crunchy topping. The final, modified result was DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
this dish did take me about 2 hours to bake, but i thought the end result was well worth it! if you have the time, this dish is definitly something you should try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
This makes a huge caserole. I left the peels on the potatoes and used a can each of cream of mushroom and cream of celery instead of the cream of broccoli. This recipe needs some salt too. I also boiled the potatoes until they were almost done. I topped it off with some dry "stovetop stuffing" mixed with some butter. Much better than using saltines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Really good recipe with a few additions/changes. As others have said... boiling the potatoes fully is a requirement. I simultaneously steamed the broccoli until crisp tender. Additionally, instead of saltines, I toasted some farmstyle bread slices VERY lightly, ripped them into crude croutons, melted two sticks of butter, and lightly drizzled this over the croutons. Also, as someone else suggested, I used one can cream of mushroom and one can cream of broccoli, as well as a small diced onion and two crushed cloves of garlic. The end result was great! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Yum Yum! This was delicious! I did take a few suggestions and altered it a little. I cooked the potatoes first, which made my casserole cook faster, in about 35 minutes. I also added some garlic, onions, and used one can of cheddar cheese soup. It was super cheesy, and I wish it would have been a little less soupy. But I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2003
I boiled my potatoes first just enough to soften them up. I did not steam the broccoli as others who wrote reviews did, but I poured the boiling water from the potatoes over the broccoli and it worked just as well with less effort. Not having any saltines on hand,I used herbed stuffing mix to top, this was not bad but I think I will use french fried onions next time. Over all this was an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
I, too, cooked the broccoli and potatoes first, and used cream of mushroom soup instead of cr. of broccoli. I substituted non-fat sour cream,which worked fine. I also used Monterey Jack cheese along with the cheddar. This was a delicious meal which I will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2001
I pre-cooked the potatoes and broccoli, and used mushroom soup instead. This dish was DELICIOUS! It's also good with hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
Very Good! I also cooked the potatoes & broccoli first. I didn't have any sour cream, so I substituted mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Moritz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
I used 2% chedder cheese and fat free sour cream to cut the fat and it was really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States