Potato and Broccoli Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
I used a bag of frozen (defrost before mixing ingredients) hash brown potatoes (cubed style) - which was MUCH easier than what the recipe called for. I think the whole bag is too much, so use your judgement. I also added more cheese on top when the casserole was almost done cooking (it took only about an hour and 10 minutes to cook). I thought it was very tastey, and will experiment with different ingredients. I wasn't thrilled with the Saltines, so I will try a butter/stuffing mixture or french fried onions next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
I fallowed the advice of other reviewers and pre-cooked the potatoes (a must). I also used cream of chicken soup instead of cream of broccoli and add frech fried onions in place of saltines. Over all it was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Lopez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
I was disappointed. It took nearly TWO HOURS for the potatoes be cooked. I think the oven should be set at AT LEAST 350 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewistown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
This has a good flavor, but not cooking the potatos adead of time is a mmistake - it takes too long for them to cook fully while the other ingredients get baked. I'll try it again with some of the other suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
This is my 2nd time making this and I finally decided to rate it. The one thing everyone must do that is not included in the recipe is to fully cook the potatoes before baking them in the casserole. The 1st time I did not even cook them at all and the 2nd almost halfway and I still had raw potatoes. I microwaved them the rest of the way to save time. If cooked properly this recipe has a full rich flavor and is very filling as a main vegetarian dish. I am going to make for the third time with fully cooked potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
Very delicious recipe,but I did add more cheese and it was wonderful. It did not serve six, it barely served 4, that is the only downfall to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
This makes a huge caserole. I left the peels on the potatoes and used a can each of cream of mushroom and cream of celery instead of the cream of broccoli. This recipe needs some salt too. I also boiled the potatoes until they were almost done. I topped it off with some dry "stovetop stuffing" mixed with some butter. Much better than using saltines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
Not my favourite recipe, a little to thick and heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
Ran out of rice at my house on Thanksgiving so I decided to give this recipe a try. I got a lot of compliments on it although I felt it was just thick brocccoli cheese soup. If you like broccoli cheese soup you are sure to like this casserole. Defintley worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacymae
Home Town: Eastover, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Otterbach, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
I give it 5 stars with the right modifications. Boiling the potatoes for a few minutes is a must. I used one can cream of broccoli and one can cream of mushroom. I also added 2 cloves minced garlic and 1 small chopped onion. Instead of saltine crackers, I mixed half a box of Stove Top stuffing with some melted butter and used that for the crunchy topping. The final, modified result was DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States