Potato and Broccoli Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
I didn't read the reviews first. I should have. It cooked for over an hour and was still just not quite done. I personally didn't care for it. Too starchy, but the family came back for thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Appomattox, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Made this for dinner lastnight. Did as suggested by others and cooked the potatoes first. I also used cream of mushroom soup sense I did not have any cream of broccoli on hand. I topped it with crushed ritzs crackers instead of the saltines and little dabs of butter, baked it at 375 for one hour. Served with a tossed green salad and crescent rolls. Everyone enjoyed it except for the 9 year old who doesn't care for broccoli. When asked t rate it my eldest gave it a 4 and my husband started with a 3 star but changed his mind and gave it a 4 in the end. Will make again and will think of other things to add to dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
Followed some of the recommended modifications by cooking potatoes a little before hand and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Yum Yum! This was delicious! I did take a few suggestions and altered it a little. I cooked the potatoes first, which made my casserole cook faster, in about 35 minutes. I also added some garlic, onions, and used one can of cheddar cheese soup. It was super cheesy, and I wish it would have been a little less soupy. But I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
The flavor is a tad bland to me, but a nice enough side dish. I would not personally choose to serve as a vegetarian main dish as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Great tasting and texture everyone loved it will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I followed everyone's advice, and boiled these potatoes until almost cooked before baking the casserole. It took about 45 minutes to get bubbly after that. I wasn't sure what size to cut the potatoes, but if I make this again I will cut them into small cubes, instead of large ones like I did. I also used stuffing mix as the crumb topping and that was tasty! Overall, not a very exciting recipe, but it tasted good, and my vegetarian mom enjoyed it as her entree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetcarolinecook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ligonier, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Really good recipe with a few additions/changes. As others have said... boiling the potatoes fully is a requirement. I simultaneously steamed the broccoli until crisp tender. Additionally, instead of saltines, I toasted some farmstyle bread slices VERY lightly, ripped them into crude croutons, melted two sticks of butter, and lightly drizzled this over the croutons. Also, as someone else suggested, I used one can cream of mushroom and one can cream of broccoli, as well as a small diced onion and two crushed cloves of garlic. The end result was great! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
I've made this recipe twice and really enjoy it. No, it's not gourmet fare, but not everything has to be. I've found that this works best for me: Peel 3 pounds potatoes and cut into 1 1/2 inch cubes. Boil for 8 minutes and then add a whole bag of frozen broccoli. Cook for a minute or so until the broccoli has thawed. Drain and return to the pot. In a bowl, stir together 1 can condensed cheddar cheese soup, 1 can cream of broccoli cheese soup, 1 C light or fat free sour cream, 1 t mustard, 1 t garlic powder, and salt and pepper to taste. Carefully stir the soup mixture into the potatoes and broccoli, making sure not to turn it into mashed potatoes! Spoon into a greased baking dish and bake at 325 for 20-30 minutes. I skip the cheddar cheese since the sauce already has cheese and we don't care for cracker crumbs so I leave them out. Hope this helps someone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
I used the suggestions of other users and it turned out pretty well. Definitely cook the potatoes first, and next time instead of subbing a can of cream mushroom for broccoli soup, I will use two broccoli to keep the broc flavor in there, and add a can of sliced mushrooms. Great recipe! Way too much for two of us, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Broccoli Chicken Casserole I

See how to make a creamy baked chicken and broccoli casserole.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States