Potage aux Legumes (Green Vegetable Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Very tasty...but next time will eliminate the pepper flakes (had no habanero peppers) and added about 1 2/3 cups of mashed potatoes to make the puree a little more thick...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Does not look like the picture. Needs more flavor than the stock gives. Just strange and not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fruitport, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Nothing wrong with this, but nothing outstanding either. Better as part of the meal -- would probably disappoint as the whole meal itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
A wonderful soup for my low acid diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Wow. Habeneros are HOT! If you want a little kick in your soup, use a 1/4 of a pepper. It won't look like much, but believe me, it will be enough. I used only 1 pepper (and was completely fooled by the small size). Holy cow, I can barely eat this soup it is so spicy. Completely burns going down. Otherwise, very delicious. You can even add some cilantro and coconut water or milk for some Asian influence.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
This was almost perfect, but I would suggest the following modifications: Instead of the habaneros, which caused a lot of problems (to hands, eyes, and tongue), I would substitute 2 serranos. And also I would add 1/3 c. cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
I thought this soup looked disgusting, tasted very bitter, and really wasnt worth the time i spent cooking and liquidising it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Booth

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Bath, Somerset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
Wonderful recipe! I did use the habanero pepper and loved it; DH and I like a little kick to our food. I did tweak it a little, though -- we are vegetarians so I subbed vegetable broth for the chicken broth. I also boiled then pureed a potato and a few broccoli stalks to make it creamy without adding fat. Also added a can of drained white cannelini beans to boost protein. Made a yummy hearty meal with crusty wholegrain bread -- will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
I was afraid of the habenero, so used a serrano instead. The bit of heat does add to the dish, so I wouldn't eliminate the pepper...just choose one in line with your preference for spice. I used an immersion blender to puree the soup. I wasn't sure what my husband would think of this, but before I could ask what he thought he was getting seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
This was very tasty. I think next time I will omit the pepper as it was a bit too hot for my husband. Otherwise, it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States