Pot Stickers Traditional Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
I made this recipe and it tasted just like the restaurant's. If you can buy round dumpling wrappers from an Asian market, it makes it so much easier. I also found a dumpling press on sale at Wal-mart (of all places), so I can make these little dumplings pretty quickly. You can freeze the dumplings after making them, although it does slightly alter the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Excellent recipe and have made several times in the last few months, have since quadrupled the recipe to fit my families needs. A few things that have been useful to me is to leave the pork raw as you fill the wrappers , easier to handle and after cooked taste and texture are better. instead of using plain sesame oil for the recipe I added the chili oil instead. Also used egg wash to seal the edges of the wrappers to seal them better.Everything else is the same as the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimfo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I am giving this four stars because I liked the taste and flavor of the filling. As a true beginner in every sense of a pot sticker first time not only making, but also eating it was pleasing to see the plate emptied. But, my pot stickers did fall apart in the cooking process. Don't put the Pot Stickers close to each other in the pan, I did thinking they would reduce in size, but they increase like a noodle. Resulted in kind of a bit of a gooey take apart session. Served with cream cheese won tons and sweet and sour sauce. Oh and I didn't refrigerate the mixture didn't read the recipe far enough in advance, but the flavors were still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Payson, Utah, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Easily one of my new favorite foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tristin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebago, Maine, USA
Living In: North Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
the sauce was a little on the salty side for my wife but all-in-all a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cpenttila

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Babbitt, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Vail, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
A little effort with nice results! They turned out super yummy and very similar to the ones we buy frozen at the store (but better, of course). I used ground turkey instead of pork and did not cook prior to mixing with the cabbage. Cooked in the oil for about 3-4 minutes, then added 1/2 cup water, covered, and steamed for 10 minutes. Came out perfectly. Keep an eye on the heat level, they can burn pretty easily! I took the advice of another reviewer and made her sauce with soy sauce, sesame oil, rice vinegar, etc. Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Got lots of compliments on these. I doubled the recipe and got 60. Used Napa Cabbage. 1 can sliced water chestnuts chopped. Cooked in oil on both sides. Removed from pan, drained on a papertowel, left for a while, came back and cooked in chicken stock instead of water to reheat...following directions by heating pan with remaining oil then adding stickers, then stock. For dipping sauce I used: 1/3c . soy sauce diluted with 2 Tbs. water, 2 Tbs. Sambal, 1/3c. rice wine vinegar, 1 tsp. sesame oil, 1/3c. sliced green onions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
These were fantastic and so easy to make. We had them as a snack and liked them so well I made a lot more and served them at dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle Ground, Washington, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I am an intermediate cook. I have cooked Asian food before. This recipe was fun to try. Excellent flavors. Easiest to cook with an extra person. Plan ahead that it takes a good chunk of time to cook the full recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
these were really yummy! I used ground chicken instead of ground pork and the sauce, I thought, was way too spicy. I definitely need to practice folding the wraps b/c mine looked nothing like the picture but they still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pot Stickers (Chinese Dumplings)

See how to make Chinese dumplings filled with ground beef and shrimp.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Traditional Slovak Haluski

These tender, tasty potato dumplings star crumbled bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States