Pot Stickers Traditional Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Awesome! I thought these would be bland, but yum! I made 100 that night for 3adults and2children...all but 8 were let over. I couldn't make the fork trick work so I just wet one side with my finger after dipping it in a glass of water and sealed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
These were awesome, even reheated the next day. My kids went nuts for them, and we turned making them into a kind of assembly line, which definitely sped the prep time up. I made a lot of substitutions, and surprisingly they still turned out really well. Heres what I did. I used buffalo chicken, baked and then cut into pieces. I didn't have any cabbage, so I chopped up celery instead. I didn't have any ginger, and shredded some carrots instead. I added a handful of minced garlic and some paprika for extra kick. For sauce, I only had some ginger hoisin left over from stir fry. After mixing the ingredients I added enough to make it just saturated (The pot stickers had enough flavor from this that dipping sauce wasn't necessary either). Lastly, for cooking, I tried olive oil. I attempted to boil them after and they just fell apart. After ruining several batches I tried frying them one side for 1 minute, flipping them and cooking them for 30 seconds. Absolute perfection, crispy on one side, and lightly crisp on the other, yet still transparent. * I didn't follow the directions either about chilling the mixed ingredients for hours either, everything was warm except for the wraps, trying this with cold ingredients may not turn out as well. Overall this was tasty and well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Yum! The filling was delish! Tasted so authentic, I couldn't believe that I made it :) I considered a previous reviewers advice to take the pot stickers from the oil pan to a pan with water to steam, however my bf is Chinese, so I called his mom and she said to do it exactly as the recipe. The trick I think is to heat the oil on medium heat, not high. Worked beautifully! I'm going to show her how, thanks to allrecipes.com, I'm an Asian chef!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cherissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
My husband asked why we didn't make them more often! Made them twice this week. Used ground chicken.Put Raw mixture in an egg roll/spring roll wrapper. Used a pizza slice to cut the wrappers into fourths. 1T per quarter, sealed with water. The edges of the triangles were long, so I folded in the outside corners to make them more ravioli-sized, then pressed with fork. No worries on the oil/water mixture. I thought I doubled the recipe the first time and yielded 41 (with some inexperience, hadn't figured out the fourths at first.) The second time, did regular proportions and had 36. Only one package of wrappers used for both times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
This recipe is incredible. However, I'm going to address the review that states that this cooking method is unsafe. These are traditionally cooked this way. I cook them in a pan with oil and, when they are lightly browned, you add water which will remain on top of the oil (because they don't mix) and you continue to cook them until the water boils off. Continue to cook them until they are slightly crispy. There is no danger in cooking them this way, so please don't be afraid based on the directions in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I use napa cabbage, salted and drained. The sticking is an easy fix. Film a warm pan with a little oil, add stickers and fry for a minute or two, then add water, cover and steam for another two or three minutes, remove cover and cook until water is gone and dumplings are browned. I like to turn them on another side and brown lightly. With all this trouble, double or triple the recipe and freeze on a baking sheet, then freeze in bags.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Somewhat tedious but good. Did not read the ingredient list correctly and bought pork sausage by mistake. Still good but a little salty. I think the point behind cooking the pork and cabbage before adding to the wrapper is to remove the excess water, cabbage has a LOT of water which may make the dumplings soggy and harder to handle. I shredded a small head of cabbage, added 2 tsp salt to draw water out, stirred & let it sit 20 minutes, strained a LOT of water out using a cheesecloth. Did go ahead & precook the pork so I could test the filling and adjust seasonings to my preference. Used a cornstarch slurry to wet the wanton edges before sealing, made around 45 w/none falling apart. I steamed first then fried to avoid the grease spatter. Put in oven to keep warm and unintentionally 'baked' some of them, very crunchy! Won't do that part again or will cover the dish instead, didn't like the crunch factor. Good recipe, will make again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I think these were just okay and I would not make them again. They did not stay together well when I was cooking them. The flavors were good but the process was a little too much hassle for me with a messy result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I substituted ground pork with ground beef since that is what I had in the fridge. I left out the sesame oil and chestnuts. All this resulted to very yummy potstickers however, I'm giving this 4 stars because I don't understand what you mean by 1/2 a medium head cabbage, I thought the ratio of meat and cabbage was too large of a difference so I took out MOST OF THE CABBAGE OUT lol. Thanks for the recipe, will make again =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Unmitigated disaster! Used wonton wrappers and they ALL came apart in the pot. Yes I squeezed the air out and the edges were sealed-still fell apart. The three stars is for the wonton mash I had for dinner that did taste wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Devin Stasicha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pot Stickers (Chinese Dumplings)

See how to make Chinese dumplings filled with ground beef and shrimp.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Traditional Slovak Haluski

These tender, tasty potato dumplings star crumbled bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States