Pot Stickers Traditional Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
My family and I loved these! I did make a few changes, however: used Napa cabbage instead of regular, added garlic and more water chestnuts to the filling, and used ground chicken (out of pork). Also, I cooked these in a thin layer of oil about 1 minute to brown the bottom, then steamed in a covered pan with a thin layer of water about 2 more minutes. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
I didn't have ground pork so I used a boneless pork loin chop, cooked it up, chopped and threw it in the cuisinart for a few pulses. Flavor of the pot stickers was really good. Mine did stick to the pan a bit but I should have read the reviews closely before I made them, it would have fixed that issue. I'll try again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charlie54933

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
Just like my local Chinese place...GREAT and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andreaahvcom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
the only changes I made was to double the recipe and I did not cook the pork first. I love these pockets of flavour!! I had no problem with sticking to the pan but what I did after frying them to golden on each side was put a couple tbsp of water in the pan and covered them to steam them a bit. thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
update: GUZ66's tips really made filling the wrappers very easy. I found round wrappers in the frozen section of the Asian grocery. Much easier to work with. After putting a scant TBS of filling on the wrapper, I wet my index fingers with water and run them around the edges of the wrapper and then fold it over and press the edges together with a fork. previous review: We love pot stickers and this is my first time to make them. I usually buy them frozen. Great recipe. Husband said best pot stickers he has ever had. I used ground beef and I used about 1 1/2 cup or so of chopped cabbage/carrots from a bag of coleslaw mix. I used a bottled dipping sauce and added about 2 tbls. of that to meat mixture. I liked cooking the meat first as it took so little time to cook the dumplings that way. I put two fry pans on the stove - one with oil and one with water. I fried the bottom of the dumplings for about 1 minute and then put them in the pan with just a little water for 1 to 2 minutes (covered) or until the top of the dumpling was translucent. Came out great. I also added a little minced red bell pepper to the meat just because I needed to use it while still fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
The recipe was great except the filling wouldn't stick together well. Would recommend adding something like egg to help keep the filling together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
these were great! I used ground turkey instead of pork, and i didn't cook the meat ahead of time. I also used carrots instead of water chestnuts. It made a ton of food. I used the following for a dipping sauce: 6T sweet chili sauce, 2T sriracha, 1t soy sauce, 1t sugar with minced scallions and cilantro. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
Fantastic recipe! A lot like the pot stickers my mom and I make together. You can put pretty much anything into these (tofu, bean sprouts, onion, different kinds of meat, etc) but it is very important that you squeeze as much liquid out of the filling (if you use tofu or a lot of vegetables) as you can before you stuff your wrappers or they will tear as you cook them. And as you seal the wrappers try to squeeze out as much air as you can or they can tear as they cook. The amount of water to steam them is completely dependant on the thickness of your wrappers. I got some from Walmart that were delicious, but a little thin so they didn't need too much water (3/4 c?) My mom's from the asian market were much thicker and needed a lot of water (about a cup, maybe more). Cooking the pork beforehand is completely unnecessary. You can also cook them by just frying them on both sides or boiling them in soup. They freeze very well, but will need an extra minute or two for cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
312 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
These are very good, not quite as good as some I've had in restaurants, but still very good. I used Leanne's sauce recipe...still not quite right, maybe add a pinch of sugar. Worth making again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
Dh and I really enjoyed these. I did do some of the modifying that others suggested... I did not cook the pork first. I added some carrot along with everything else.. I chopped it all up in the food processor... I also doubled the recipe but not the salt.. was still plenty of salt.. especially if your using a dipping sauce with soy sauce in it...Instead of all the oil I halved the oil and browned it slightly then added the water... and cooked until the water evaporated. Next time I will use a very good non stick pan and very little oil to cut down on the greasiness.. these are keepers in our book.. thanks for posting this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pot Stickers (Chinese Dumplings)

See how to make Chinese dumplings filled with ground beef and shrimp.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Traditional Slovak Haluski

These tender, tasty potato dumplings star crumbled bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States