Pot Stickers Traditional Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
The key to these things is sealing the wrappers. I used inspiration from this recipe and the Gyoza recipe also found on this site. Used cabbage, ground chicken, shittake mushrooms, green onions, water chestnuts, grated carrot for filling. Hit the mixture with a lot of ginger and garlic powder as well as a tsp or so of sesame oil. Fried batches in canola oil and sesame oil and I couldn't *really* tell the difference. Steaming with chicken broth is brilliant, though. Love Leanne's sauce for these. EDIT: Second time through, used actual minced garlic (3 cloves) and ginger (about an inch minced). Used same veggies for filling, also doused with soya sauce and sesame oil (there abouts of a heaping teaspoon). Instead of ground meat, used shredded tofu. Never used the sugar. Still a hit. The only reason I rate it a bit low is because I augmented the filling a great deal. Still adoring Leanne's sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aredendra

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I have to rate these by taste and not by how difficult they were to make. I will continue to buy these!!!!!! I was so frustrated that I couldn't get my wonton wrappers to stick together and they were really thin! My husband took over since he loves them so much and ended up dipping the whole wonton wrapper in water to get them to stick. WHAT A MESS! They fell apart while cooking and was not worth my time. BUT they tasted really really good especially with the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim1430

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
My son used this recipe to make an ethnic dish for a school project. We enjoyed them so much we started making them for dinner on a regular basis. We did have trouble with them sticking and tearing so we decided to try them in the deep fryer and loved them even more. We double wrap them when we deep fry and they look just like the fried wontons you get in the chinese restaurants. Makes an impressive appetizer for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
This recipe was so much fun to play with. Although I used chopped raw shrimp instead of the pork, I mostly followed the recipe. I was interested in learning the method for pot stickers and this was perfect. Like other reviewers, I didn't add extra oil. I took them to a party and they stayed perfect in my electric skillet. Everyone liked them, but no one asked for the recipe (not everyone enjoys putting so much time into a dish!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
I made this as an appetizer to Sesame Chicken Pasta also on this site. I made changes to make this into a 30 minute meal. I did not cook the pork and instead added the ingredients to season the pork. I used green onions, cilantro, ginger, sesame oil, pepper, sugar, soy sauce and a bit of sugar. I doubled the wontons-making them single did NOT work! If it stuck to the pan the filling would fall out so DEFINITELY DOUBLE THE WONTONS! I steamed them using chicken broth also as another reviewer had and it really brought a great dimension to the flavor. It took about 5-7 minutes per batch. This was my first time cooking an Asian meal besides Stir Fry and it couldn't have been simpler and it tasted just as good as take out! My hubby ate about 10! This one will be on rotation at my house! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
I tried this recipe. They come out better if you do not precook the meat. I used ground pork and chicken. Also, used radicco instead of cabbage. This gives more color once bitten into. I also added a tsp of sugar to a sauce of Sesame Oil, Soy and rice wine. My step son ate 2 dozen with out stopping for air. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
I had a really hard time making these as actual potstickers. I didn't have the proper pan for it, and they just didn't turn out great. I took all the filling, cooked it up, and we served it over rice. That was actually really tasty! We eat it all the time, and call it potsticker hash :) I usually use a full lb. of ground pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirelle James Edghill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Photo by TwylaVega
Reviewed: May 17, 2008
This was a great recipe... my 2 kids loved it! I did cheat in one way & wanted to share it with everyone... instead of shredding my own cabbage I bought a bag of pre-shredded cole slaw mix! It even had a few shredded carrots in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
this was all going well until the directions said "add the water to the oil". The oil splattered everywhere. I pulled the pan off the burner and the oil splatter started a fire on the hot burner! Is there something left out here! Saved the kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glasgow, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
yummy! ccoked half and put the other half in the freezer.. great quick appetizer when company drops ny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauralee McCloskey

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 121-130 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pot Stickers (Chinese Dumplings)

See how to make Chinese dumplings filled with ground beef and shrimp.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Traditional Slovak Haluski

These tender, tasty potato dumplings star crumbled bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States