Pot Stickers Traditional Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
I made this as an appetizer to Sesame Chicken Pasta also on this site. I made changes to make this into a 30 minute meal. I did not cook the pork and instead added the ingredients to season the pork. I used green onions, cilantro, ginger, sesame oil, pepper, sugar, soy sauce and a bit of sugar. I doubled the wontons-making them single did NOT work! If it stuck to the pan the filling would fall out so DEFINITELY DOUBLE THE WONTONS! I steamed them using chicken broth also as another reviewer had and it really brought a great dimension to the flavor. It took about 5-7 minutes per batch. This was my first time cooking an Asian meal besides Stir Fry and it couldn't have been simpler and it tasted just as good as take out! My hubby ate about 10! This one will be on rotation at my house! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
I tried this recipe. They come out better if you do not precook the meat. I used ground pork and chicken. Also, used radicco instead of cabbage. This gives more color once bitten into. I also added a tsp of sugar to a sauce of Sesame Oil, Soy and rice wine. My step son ate 2 dozen with out stopping for air. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
I had a really hard time making these as actual potstickers. I didn't have the proper pan for it, and they just didn't turn out great. I took all the filling, cooked it up, and we served it over rice. That was actually really tasty! We eat it all the time, and call it potsticker hash :) I usually use a full lb. of ground pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirelle James Edghill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Photo by TwylaVega
Reviewed: May 17, 2008
This was a great recipe... my 2 kids loved it! I did cheat in one way & wanted to share it with everyone... instead of shredding my own cabbage I bought a bag of pre-shredded cole slaw mix! It even had a few shredded carrots in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
this was all going well until the directions said "add the water to the oil". The oil splattered everywhere. I pulled the pan off the burner and the oil splatter started a fire on the hot burner! Is there something left out here! Saved the kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glasgow, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
yummy! ccoked half and put the other half in the freezer.. great quick appetizer when company drops ny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauralee McCloskey

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Lisa Michelle
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
5 stars and then some. These were so good. I followed the recipe as written except I used ground chicken instead of ground pork. I also added one raw egg to the meat mixture before putting them together and it helped (thank you to the other reviewers for suggesting it). I cooked them on the stove top in two batches. I found that the 3/4 cup of water you add when cooking them is way too much so I cut it in half with the second batch and got much better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
This was the first time I have made pot stickers and they turned out great! I too changed the recipe a bit, I used less cabbage, added carrots and garlic, and used Sriracha Hot Chili Sauce in the mixture. I also added a beaten egg to it before I put it into the wrappers. And they didn't stick a bit! With some of the extra filling I made some wontons added them to chicken broth with some scallions and made a nice soup! Will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Everyone loved these at my new years eve party. I used ground beef and cole slaw mix instead. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiburdan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: May Pen, Clarendon, Jamaica
Living In: Apopka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
OMG! I love these. My husband loved them. My KIDS loved these. So good. I did have to adapt to my small wrappers by moistening the edges of 4 wonton wrappers and sealing them together by overlapping the edges and then rolled the meat up in them and folded in the edges then rolled. Alot less to fry for me. I will be making these again very soon. I tried some other sauce recipe with this and it rocked too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pot Stickers (Chinese Dumplings)

See how to make Chinese dumplings filled with ground beef and shrimp.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Traditional Slovak Haluski

These tender, tasty potato dumplings star crumbled bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States