Pot Stickers Traditional Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Very tasty! I agree with "bigsis144" lots of work involved and a once in a while fab treat! Great Sunday or Monday night football food! I am going to try steaming next time, because I do enjoy the healthier meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stanley, New York, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
These are more labor-intensive than most dinners I make, but as a special-occasion treat, WOW!!!! Totally worth it for the look on my husband's face. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bigsis144

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Step four was confusing. I consulted Alton Brown's instructions. Put the pot stickers in the pan lightly coated with oil and do not stir or touch for two minutes. Then add 1/3 cup chicken broth, turn the heat down and cook for two minutes. They came out perfectly. A lot of work but a fun Sunday afternoon project for my daughter and me. Had to run several batches through my cast iron skillet to cook them all. We made some sticky rice for dipping in the sauce, and together this made a full meal and even some leftover pot stickers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Memphis Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
wow.wow.wow. I cannot say enough good things about this recipe (with reviewers suggestions). I've never tackled pot stickers/gyoza before, but I felt compelled to try. First, I did not cook the ground chicken mixture beforehand. Second, some ingredient changes I made were: 1/2 head finely chopped napa cabbage, ~1 tsp grated ginger (using my microplane), a couple pressed garlic cloves, 1/2 can of finely chopped water chestnuts. After forming the dumplings I decided to place them in the fridge to hold until I was ready to cook, but I shouldn't have because the dough turned soggy. Not sure how to avoid this in the future if I plan to hold for a while. Taking other sugggestions I placed them in a pan with a bit of oil to brown each side. Then added 1/2 C chicken broth and steamed for a few mintues. Served over rice with General Tsao's sauce (from Trader Joe's). Husband said they're definitely a keeper. I agree :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIANKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
These were great. I used 1/4 head of cabbage, and 2 green onions and used the wonton wrappers. I also used the 1 tbsp soy sauce, 1 tsp sugar, and 1 tsp sesame oil for the dipping sauce as per one of the reviews and it tasted awesome!! I also froze them on a cookie sheet and now have a bag in the freezer for whenever I feel like cooking up a few!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
I used to buy (at a very affordable price) bags of frozen pot stickers from Trader Joe's. I've had trouble finding them over the past couple years, and the ones I find in other stores are all at ridiculous prices. I'm so glad to have this recipe. Not only does it taste perfect, but I can control what I put in them and make them healthier if I so choose. We gorged ourselves on them the first night we made them. These will be perfect appetizers to premake and freeze for future parties. I can't wait to show them off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justina Schneeweis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I liked this recipe although I was confused with a couple things. 1. Why precook the pork? Mine cooked thoroughly after steaming for 5 mins maximum. 2. I the grocery store wonton wraps and don't have any trouble sealing them. I lay them out, brush the edges with water (about 1/2"), put a scant tbsp of filling in the center. I fold over the wrapper, press wet edges together, then crimp/pinch to seal and for the look. Works like a charm - my 7 year old granddaughter kept right up with me! I think the secret is to not overfill them, and when I add the filling, I spread the filling from a "drop" to more of a cylinder shape. This way no filling squeezes out. Thanks for this great recipe - they freeze great, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Wolszon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Vadnais Heights, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Very delicious, but harder to wrap than you would think. It takes some practice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Fantastic. My 14-year-old daughter and I made these and froze about half. They were so tasty, we finished the other half within a few days. We didn't make the sauce as we were able to purchase a quart of some excellent dipping sauce at the Chinese restaurant for only $2. We will be making these again this weekend with pak choy from our garden. Cannot wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I did not like how this turned out at all. I followed the recipe, but over all the flavor just wasn't there for me. I've had much better frozen ones (and for the amount of time and the cost it took to make these, I would rather spend my money on the frozen). I think it was the wonton wrappers that did it for me. I found the texture to be very different to what I'm use to. After trying this recipe, I was turned off to pot stickers for a few months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jjam1303

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pot Stickers (Chinese Dumplings)

See how to make Chinese dumplings filled with ground beef and shrimp.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Traditional Slovak Haluski

These tender, tasty potato dumplings star crumbled bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States