Pot Stickers Traditional Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
Fantastic recipe! A lot like the pot stickers my mom and I make together. You can put pretty much anything into these (tofu, bean sprouts, onion, different kinds of meat, etc) but it is very important that you squeeze as much liquid out of the filling (if you use tofu or a lot of vegetables) as you can before you stuff your wrappers or they will tear as you cook them. And as you seal the wrappers try to squeeze out as much air as you can or they can tear as they cook. The amount of water to steam them is completely dependant on the thickness of your wrappers. I got some from Walmart that were delicious, but a little thin so they didn't need too much water (3/4 c?) My mom's from the asian market were much thicker and needed a lot of water (about a cup, maybe more). Cooking the pork beforehand is completely unnecessary. You can also cook them by just frying them on both sides or boiling them in soup. They freeze very well, but will need an extra minute or two for cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
320 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
These are very good, not quite as good as some I've had in restaurants, but still very good. I used Leanne's sauce recipe...still not quite right, maybe add a pinch of sugar. Worth making again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
Dh and I really enjoyed these. I did do some of the modifying that others suggested... I did not cook the pork first. I added some carrot along with everything else.. I chopped it all up in the food processor... I also doubled the recipe but not the salt.. was still plenty of salt.. especially if your using a dipping sauce with soy sauce in it...Instead of all the oil I halved the oil and browned it slightly then added the water... and cooked until the water evaporated. Next time I will use a very good non stick pan and very little oil to cut down on the greasiness.. these are keepers in our book.. thanks for posting this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
Really yummy, but too much cabbage (half a head is a LOT), and I wouldn't attempt this without a food processor. Finely chopping cabbage by hand is no fun! I simply sprayed a pan with PAM, cooked for 4 minutes, then added the water and let them simmer. Also, I really don't like the sauce. I'm used to a sweeter sauce. Next time I'll try Leanne's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
I give this recipe 5 stars....it was absolutely wonderful. Next time, however, I will use egg roll wrapper instead of won ton. I thin of pot stickers as being larger. Recipe is to die for though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
Okay, I'm giving it five stars, but my first attempt was a stick-to-the-pot disaster. I fried, then steamed, then put in a new pan to finish frying and they turned out absolutely awesome. They're not difficult to make, just a bit putsy. I think total prep time for me was about 20-30 minutes, which isn't bad if you have the time. Inexpensive and impressive. I put some garlic and a dash of soy sauce in the pork, and used a bit less cabbage as it's all I had left, and it was still perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
I found this to be pretty good tasting pot stickers. I thought it needed a bit more salt but then putting it into the potsticker dip it jazzed it right up. I made double the recipe and there was not a potsticker left! I did use a teflon pan to make sure there was no sticking to the pan. Didn't change a thing, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAYEE
Home Town: Eastlake, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
Marcia Marcia Marcia! This recipe is really good! I had left over filling from an egg roll recipe from this site (used ground turkey) and added red pepper flakes to it. Like LZJoyce, I was confused about the direction to stir constantly...I followed MS.CHEF's advice and placed them in 2 tbsp. of oil and later added one cup of water, covered and steamed for about 4 or 5 minutes. Served these with the sauce suggested as well as Sweet and Sour Sauce I (also very good) and we all enjoyed them very much. Time consuming but well worth it. Thanks so much Marcia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Choteau, Montana, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
I had the same issues as another poster with them sticking so badly to the pot that they had to be served in a bowl as they all fell apart, but the flavor was excellent! I did notice that the won ton wrappers my store carries seem to be thinner than others I've tried so maybe that's why they didn't stay together? I would definitely make this again though, the insides were just like at my favorite restaraunt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
Wow, I made these yesterday...I had to eat some before supper, they looked so good. I did as the other reviewer did, I did not cook the pork meat first, I just left it raw. I also substituted Nappa cabbage for the regular cabbage. I just added a couple more minutes to the cooking time, to adjust for the raw pork. But, what a great recipe. I recommend doubling or tripling the recipe so that you can freeze some for next time....Great stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefLes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pot Stickers (Chinese Dumplings)

See how to make Chinese dumplings filled with ground beef and shrimp.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Traditional Slovak Haluski

These tender, tasty potato dumplings star crumbled bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States