Pot Stickers Traditional Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by LaMiaItalia
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Absolutely what I was looking for!! These are GREAT!!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaMiaItalia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Very very good. Normally I do not use cabbage in the dumplings, but was pleasantly suprised. Everyone loved them. I browned the bottoms on the griddle and then transferred them to a steam basket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Greenbrier, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
The filling was yummy even if kind of hard to work with being that it was crumbled. The sauce left alot to be desired and we searched for different dipping sauce recipes. It needed sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
This is definitely an authentic potsticker recipe. I had to google though to find out how I was suppose to fold the dumplings. Also, make sure the oil in the pan is very hot when searing the bottom side. Got tons of raves on this recipe and it will be a staple within my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Great recipe and much easier to make than I was expecting. I had leftover boneless pork chops and through them in a food processor with the other ingredients. Then followed the rest of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I enjoyed the filling very much but did make some changes to the original recipe. I used a pre-shredded coleslaw mix and added veggie crumbles instead of the pork. I used powdered ginger with cumin. Kept the dipping sauce the same but used homemade dough. I enjoyed this very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Absolutely wonderful!!! I tweaked it a little...used 1 pound of raw ground pork and mixed it with about 1/4-1/2 cup of ground carrots, 1 teaspoon of ground ginger, 1 green onion and the recipe's amount of salt, sesame oil and sugar. I didn't use the water chestnuts or cabbage. They turned out phenomenal! I followed another reviewer and sauted in oil for about 5 minutes then steamed in chicken broth for about 10-15 minutes. I used Leanne's recipe for a dipping sauce (sesame oil, rice wine vinegar, soy sauce and 1 minced green onion) and my boyfriend and I loved it! I froze what we didn't cook and hope they will be an easy answer to a quick dinner another night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Excellent pot stickers. Tried as per a reviewer, omitted the cabbage and finely chopped a whole can of sliced water chestnuts instead. Did not pre-cook the meat as per the original recipe(not necessary).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOEANDSUE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Welland, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This is nice but it should be called fast potstickers, or fried wonton. The northern chinese make the skin by hand- that's traditional, but i cannot say for the younger generation, who tend to use the instant wrappers from supermarket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
The key to these things is sealing the wrappers. I used inspiration from this recipe and the Gyoza recipe also found on this site. Used cabbage, ground chicken, shittake mushrooms, green onions, water chestnuts, grated carrot for filling. Hit the mixture with a lot of ginger and garlic powder as well as a tsp or so of sesame oil. Fried batches in canola oil and sesame oil and I couldn't *really* tell the difference. Steaming with chicken broth is brilliant, though. Love Leanne's sauce for these. EDIT: Second time through, used actual minced garlic (3 cloves) and ginger (about an inch minced). Used same veggies for filling, also doused with soya sauce and sesame oil (there abouts of a heaping teaspoon). Instead of ground meat, used shredded tofu. Never used the sugar. Still a hit. The only reason I rate it a bit low is because I augmented the filling a great deal. Still adoring Leanne's sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aredendra

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 111-120 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pot Stickers (Chinese Dumplings)

See how to make Chinese dumplings filled with ground beef and shrimp.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Traditional Slovak Haluski

These tender, tasty potato dumplings star crumbled bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States