Pot Stickers Traditional Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2015
This was good, but disastrous! Mine was like a pot sticker salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Great! The whole family is in love with them. I've always loved these in the restaurants, but never could figure it out. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I used this as a basic starting point to get the gist of how wontons work. I winged most of the innards but this was a huge help in getting started! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hsemock

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Thisw isn't a good recipe. Its very bland and it also suggests wonton wrappers but they are not the correct kind for true pot stickers. You need rounded wrappers for that. Also YOU ARE A MORON if you think this is dangerous. For 1 if the oil starts jumping when you add water it means you are cooking at too high of a temperature. 2 by the time you add the water the oil should be pretty much cooked up. There shouldn't be more than just a shiny coating left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
If this were just for flavour, then I would give this 5 stars, but when it came to cooking, I made some alterations. (btw, the smell when this was marinating was AMAZING!) I didn't cook the pork beforehand, so that had something to do with it, but when I followed the instructions the pork didn't get cooked. What I ended up doing was: heat 3 Tbs. of oil in a deep skillet, add pot stickers (I did it in three batches), add 3/4 cup water and cover. After about 8 minutes take off cover and lett water evaporate until the bottom begins to brown, take out of pan and keep warm. For the next batches I added one Tbs. before putting in pot stickers. I also made the wrappers (according to one of the comments) with 2 cups flour, and 3/4 cup water plus 2 Tbs. then you let it sit for 30 min. and roll out to about 1/8 in. then cut with a three in. round cookie/biscuit cutter. I found this dough to be WAY to sticky, so I probably added another cup or more, but we had the equivalent of one wrapper left, so it came out well. I also used 1/2 a bag of shredded green cabbage, 10 slices of water chestnuts, and 1/2 tsp. chopped ginger (from a gar, I don't have any fresh). The taste was amazing! I was afraid it was going to be too much cabbage, but I could barely taste it. The sauce, however was WAY WAY too spicy. In the future I think I'll stick with soy sauce, sesame oil, rice vinegar, and a bit of ginger. I will DEFINATLY be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Swift

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
The only things I change are that I use the traditional dumpling wrapper, the round ones. They do taste completely different to me than the egg roll wrappers and fry up in a different texture. I also don't add cabbage as that makes it more of an egg roll. When you put them in the oil, once they brown, flip them then add the water and cook till the water is gone with a lid on so they steam. Don't add the water too soon...only once they have browned on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kymbrown1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Boiling Springs, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lawrenceburg, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
better than restaurant! try the gyoza sauce too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Coleman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
WOW, Beyond all expectations!!! Really, really delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Taste like the authentic pot stickers that I grew up with when I was a kid. The only change i made was added a little sherry to it. I also wrapped it with potsticker (round) wrappers rather than wonton wrappers. I made a dip, using 2 Tb soy sauce, 2 Tb water, 1 Tb rice wine vinegar, green onions, ginger & sesame oil. Really good! I would fry the bottoms of the pot stickers til it browns on bottom, throw in about 3-4 Tb of water, put lid on and it's ready when the water are all absorbed. I will try it next time boiling it, like I remembered when I was a kid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
My family did not like this one bit. It was very bland. I will not be adding this to recipes to keep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Pot Stickers (Chinese Dumplings)

See how to make Chinese dumplings filled with ground beef and shrimp.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Traditional Slovak Haluski

These tender, tasty potato dumplings star crumbled bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States