Pot Stickers Traditional Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Yum! The filling was delish! Tasted so authentic, I couldn't believe that I made it :) I considered a previous reviewers advice to take the pot stickers from the oil pan to a pan with water to steam, however my bf is Chinese, so I called his mom and she said to do it exactly as the recipe. The trick I think is to heat the oil on medium heat, not high. Worked beautifully! I'm going to show her how, thanks to allrecipes.com, I'm an Asian chef!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cherissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
My husband asked why we didn't make them more often! Made them twice this week. Used ground chicken.Put Raw mixture in an egg roll/spring roll wrapper. Used a pizza slice to cut the wrappers into fourths. 1T per quarter, sealed with water. The edges of the triangles were long, so I folded in the outside corners to make them more ravioli-sized, then pressed with fork. No worries on the oil/water mixture. I thought I doubled the recipe the first time and yielded 41 (with some inexperience, hadn't figured out the fourths at first.) The second time, did regular proportions and had 36. Only one package of wrappers used for both times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
This recipe is incredible. However, I'm going to address the review that states that this cooking method is unsafe. These are traditionally cooked this way. I cook them in a pan with oil and, when they are lightly browned, you add water which will remain on top of the oil (because they don't mix) and you continue to cook them until the water boils off. Continue to cook them until they are slightly crispy. There is no danger in cooking them this way, so please don't be afraid based on the directions in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I use napa cabbage, salted and drained. The sticking is an easy fix. Film a warm pan with a little oil, add stickers and fry for a minute or two, then add water, cover and steam for another two or three minutes, remove cover and cook until water is gone and dumplings are browned. I like to turn them on another side and brown lightly. With all this trouble, double or triple the recipe and freeze on a baking sheet, then freeze in bags.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Somewhat tedious but good. Did not read the ingredient list correctly and bought pork sausage by mistake. Still good but a little salty. I think the point behind cooking the pork and cabbage before adding to the wrapper is to remove the excess water, cabbage has a LOT of water which may make the dumplings soggy and harder to handle. I shredded a small head of cabbage, added 2 tsp salt to draw water out, stirred & let it sit 20 minutes, strained a LOT of water out using a cheesecloth. Did go ahead & precook the pork so I could test the filling and adjust seasonings to my preference. Used a cornstarch slurry to wet the wanton edges before sealing, made around 45 w/none falling apart. I steamed first then fried to avoid the grease spatter. Put in oven to keep warm and unintentionally 'baked' some of them, very crunchy! Won't do that part again or will cover the dish instead, didn't like the crunch factor. Good recipe, will make again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I think these were just okay and I would not make them again. They did not stay together well when I was cooking them. The flavors were good but the process was a little too much hassle for me with a messy result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I substituted ground pork with ground beef since that is what I had in the fridge. I left out the sesame oil and chestnuts. All this resulted to very yummy potstickers however, I'm giving this 4 stars because I don't understand what you mean by 1/2 a medium head cabbage, I thought the ratio of meat and cabbage was too large of a difference so I took out MOST OF THE CABBAGE OUT lol. Thanks for the recipe, will make again =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Unmitigated disaster! Used wonton wrappers and they ALL came apart in the pot. Yes I squeezed the air out and the edges were sealed-still fell apart. The three stars is for the wonton mash I had for dinner that did taste wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Devin Stasicha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Love it. Used stuff that we like in them, but was never quite sure just on how to fry them up. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I made this for Chinese New Year and they were delicious. Had a hard time cooking them though. Since I used raw pork I decided to boil for 5 minutes and then fry them. Boiling worked good except they became very fragile. Frying them in a skillet was a disaster. They completely stuck to the pan and I could not get them off, thus ruining them. So with the rest of them I fried them on my non stick skillet and that seemed to work great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pot Stickers (Chinese Dumplings)

See how to make Chinese dumplings filled with ground beef and shrimp.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Traditional Slovak Haluski

These tender, tasty potato dumplings star crumbled bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States