Pot Stickers Traditional Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
filling was very dry, and except for the ginger had no flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
These pot stickers are delicious and not at all dangerous IF you know how to cook with oil and water. I had no trouble at all with this so called dangerous spattering. As my grandmother always said, "the deeper the pan, the less the spatter and always have a lid handy".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
tastes exactly like my Grandma Kwong's! For people whom don't realize how to cook them, it is true that you first put them in a touch of oil to brown the bottoms (meaning the fan is at the top and a flat side must be formed for the bottom), and then add a little bit of water for steaming. For those that state that this isn't right, believe me it is...I am Chinese and was raised in a chinese home. This is the traditional way on how to cook them. As well, to keep the dough together and be able to do the fan folding seam, DO NOT USE EGG! Use water, egg gives them a unappealing taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAIROTAIVA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Very good, but I would change the green cabbage to chopped bok choy (or a Chinese cabbage) and allow to drain off. There is a lot of water in cabbage. Secondly, I recommend steaming the dumplings first, then pan fry them. This way there is no concern with liquids in hot oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
This was healthy and tasteful. I made a bunch and froze them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
These were good to ME but my dear boyfriend thought they tasted a bit medicinal? It might have been my own fault though. I couldn't find actual ginger in my grocery store but I did find a TUBE of ginger...but it didn't have "slice" increments on it of course so I put a tablespoon of it in but I think it might have need just a teaspoon of half a tablespoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Glasgow, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Amazing. We cut the amount of salt in half. We used chix stock instead of water. Followed suggestions for less liquid and steaming too. These are better than most I've had in restaurants. Hubby's had the real deal in China. These are on par.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Before you start, understand that this is a fairly labor intensive recipe, and unless you are a magician, be prepared for a big mess in the kitchen! Admittedly, this is my first attempt at making pot stickers, and many reviews mentioned concern over the cooking method of adding water to hot oil. I, too, was concerned, and justifiably so. I had oil splattered everywhere once the water hit the pot (I did these in batches in a dutch oven)...that's the mess I'm talking about. Followed the recipe to the letter, except I didn't make the sauce, and after the first batch, I cut back on the oil (added no oil after they'd steamed). I used the Plum Sauce recipe from this site which was terrific. The one negative thing that I have to say is that they really were pretty oily, and I don't ever remember that from having them in a restaurant, fried or steamed. On the positive side, they were very tasty, but I'm not sure I have the patience for the clean-up again. If I decide to give this another try, it'll be a while!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Awesome! I thought these would be bland, but yum! I made 100 that night for 3adults and2children...all but 8 were let over. I couldn't make the fork trick work so I just wet one side with my finger after dipping it in a glass of water and sealed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
These were awesome, even reheated the next day. My kids went nuts for them, and we turned making them into a kind of assembly line, which definitely sped the prep time up. I made a lot of substitutions, and surprisingly they still turned out really well. Heres what I did. I used buffalo chicken, baked and then cut into pieces. I didn't have any cabbage, so I chopped up celery instead. I didn't have any ginger, and shredded some carrots instead. I added a handful of minced garlic and some paprika for extra kick. For sauce, I only had some ginger hoisin left over from stir fry. After mixing the ingredients I added enough to make it just saturated (The pot stickers had enough flavor from this that dipping sauce wasn't necessary either). Lastly, for cooking, I tried olive oil. I attempted to boil them after and they just fell apart. After ruining several batches I tried frying them one side for 1 minute, flipping them and cooking them for 30 seconds. Absolute perfection, crispy on one side, and lightly crisp on the other, yet still transparent. * I didn't follow the directions either about chilling the mixed ingredients for hours either, everything was warm except for the wraps, trying this with cold ingredients may not turn out as well. Overall this was tasty and well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pot Stickers (Chinese Dumplings)

See how to make Chinese dumplings filled with ground beef and shrimp.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Traditional Slovak Haluski

These tender, tasty potato dumplings star crumbled bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States