Pot Stickers Traditional Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
tastes exactly like my Grandma Kwong's! For people whom don't realize how to cook them, it is true that you first put them in a touch of oil to brown the bottoms (meaning the fan is at the top and a flat side must be formed for the bottom), and then add a little bit of water for steaming. For those that state that this isn't right, believe me it is...I am Chinese and was raised in a chinese home. This is the traditional way on how to cook them. As well, to keep the dough together and be able to do the fan folding seam, DO NOT USE EGG! Use water, egg gives them a unappealing taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAIROTAIVA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Very good, but I would change the green cabbage to chopped bok choy (or a Chinese cabbage) and allow to drain off. There is a lot of water in cabbage. Secondly, I recommend steaming the dumplings first, then pan fry them. This way there is no concern with liquids in hot oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
This was healthy and tasteful. I made a bunch and froze them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
These were good to ME but my dear boyfriend thought they tasted a bit medicinal? It might have been my own fault though. I couldn't find actual ginger in my grocery store but I did find a TUBE of ginger...but it didn't have "slice" increments on it of course so I put a tablespoon of it in but I think it might have need just a teaspoon of half a tablespoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Glasgow, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Amazing. We cut the amount of salt in half. We used chix stock instead of water. Followed suggestions for less liquid and steaming too. These are better than most I've had in restaurants. Hubby's had the real deal in China. These are on par.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Before you start, understand that this is a fairly labor intensive recipe, and unless you are a magician, be prepared for a big mess in the kitchen! Admittedly, this is my first attempt at making pot stickers, and many reviews mentioned concern over the cooking method of adding water to hot oil. I, too, was concerned, and justifiably so. I had oil splattered everywhere once the water hit the pot (I did these in batches in a dutch oven)...that's the mess I'm talking about. Followed the recipe to the letter, except I didn't make the sauce, and after the first batch, I cut back on the oil (added no oil after they'd steamed). I used the Plum Sauce recipe from this site which was terrific. The one negative thing that I have to say is that they really were pretty oily, and I don't ever remember that from having them in a restaurant, fried or steamed. On the positive side, they were very tasty, but I'm not sure I have the patience for the clean-up again. If I decide to give this another try, it'll be a while!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Awesome! I thought these would be bland, but yum! I made 100 that night for 3adults and2children...all but 8 were let over. I couldn't make the fork trick work so I just wet one side with my finger after dipping it in a glass of water and sealed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
These were awesome, even reheated the next day. My kids went nuts for them, and we turned making them into a kind of assembly line, which definitely sped the prep time up. I made a lot of substitutions, and surprisingly they still turned out really well. Heres what I did. I used buffalo chicken, baked and then cut into pieces. I didn't have any cabbage, so I chopped up celery instead. I didn't have any ginger, and shredded some carrots instead. I added a handful of minced garlic and some paprika for extra kick. For sauce, I only had some ginger hoisin left over from stir fry. After mixing the ingredients I added enough to make it just saturated (The pot stickers had enough flavor from this that dipping sauce wasn't necessary either). Lastly, for cooking, I tried olive oil. I attempted to boil them after and they just fell apart. After ruining several batches I tried frying them one side for 1 minute, flipping them and cooking them for 30 seconds. Absolute perfection, crispy on one side, and lightly crisp on the other, yet still transparent. * I didn't follow the directions either about chilling the mixed ingredients for hours either, everything was warm except for the wraps, trying this with cold ingredients may not turn out as well. Overall this was tasty and well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Yum! The filling was delish! Tasted so authentic, I couldn't believe that I made it :) I considered a previous reviewers advice to take the pot stickers from the oil pan to a pan with water to steam, however my bf is Chinese, so I called his mom and she said to do it exactly as the recipe. The trick I think is to heat the oil on medium heat, not high. Worked beautifully! I'm going to show her how, thanks to allrecipes.com, I'm an Asian chef!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cherissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
My husband asked why we didn't make them more often! Made them twice this week. Used ground chicken.Put Raw mixture in an egg roll/spring roll wrapper. Used a pizza slice to cut the wrappers into fourths. 1T per quarter, sealed with water. The edges of the triangles were long, so I folded in the outside corners to make them more ravioli-sized, then pressed with fork. No worries on the oil/water mixture. I thought I doubled the recipe the first time and yielded 41 (with some inexperience, hadn't figured out the fourths at first.) The second time, did regular proportions and had 36. Only one package of wrappers used for both times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pot Stickers (Chinese Dumplings)

See how to make Chinese dumplings filled with ground beef and shrimp.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Traditional Slovak Haluski

These tender, tasty potato dumplings star crumbled bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States