Pot Stickers Traditional Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
I added a bit of red pepper flakes to the filling. A bit confused on step 4; stir constantly after adding pot stickers? I just added pot stickers to heated oil, browned the bottoms, added the water, COVERED, and simmered for about 10 minutes. Did not add additional oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
This recipe was excellent!!!! Similar to the ones you would get from a Chinese restaurant, or even Friday's. I made modifications to the recipe, not because I felt they needed it, but because I was trying to make these a little more healthy. I did omit the cabbage (I haven't seen ones with cabbage in them), and I used ground chicken instead of pork. I used ground ginger. I also added minced carrots and onions. I left the ground chicken raw, and mixed the ingredients, then cooked them in peanut oil instead of sesame oil, and then steamed them in chicken broth. While steaming, I placed a top on top of the skillet. I also steamed for additional 7 minutes - wanted to make sure the ground chicken was thoroughly cooked. I also used Leanne's sauce of 2 TBSP soy sauce, 2 TBSP rice wine vinegar, 1 tsp sesame oil, and 1 tsp minced scallion, which was right on point. Loved this recipe and will definitely make again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grneyedmustang

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
These turned out tasting just like the homemade ones I get in my favorite asian restaurant. I was especially suprised by the texture - both steamed and fried, and perfect! Follow those cooking instructions to a tee. This recipe might also be modified for shumai, gyoza, and mandu, as I don't see anything else close on the site right now. It is a LOT of work to get dozens of wrappers filled with a tiny amount of filling, so get some extra hands on the project if you can, or a chair and a radio if you can't. I didn't let the mixture set overnight, and I used spiced shrimp meat instead of pork - it still came out amazing. I had so many pieces that I had to make two rounds in the skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
My favourite recipe for potstickers is very similar to this one. I add finely chopped raw shrimp, peeled and deveined to raw chicken or pork and othr ingredients and chill mixture as per the recipe. For those who like a hotter sauce for dipping try combining 2 T. each soya sauce, lemon juice and water, 1 T. hoisin sauce, 2 t. sesame oil, 1 t. grated fresh ginger root, 1/2 t. hot Asian chili paste and 2 T. each finely chopped green onions and fresh cilantro. Vary heat by decreasing or increasing the hot chili paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
I changed this a bit, but used the basic method and it worked well for me. I used my own filling, fried the "packets" in some sesame oil (on several of their sides), and steamed them in a little chicken broth (per other reviewers) for ~5 minutes and they turned out great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
I am not a fan of pork, but I made it with the pork anyways with the reviews being so high, and these are delish!!!!! everyone thought they were take out, all though the takeout are not crumbly in the center.. I will try the ground chicken next time, and I will stuff them with raw meat, and steam them longer.... great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
These are EXCELLENT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! They are just like the ones I've Had in my Chinese Place and Having them with Spicy dipping sauce. They are so good!!!!!!!!!!!! Thanks, Marcia p.s. The Master Chef would be proud of you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
This recipe was great! My husband and kids are not big fans of soy, but they absolutely loved this recipe! I substituted the pork with ground soy "meat" and the water chestnut with a clove of garlic. The size of the wonton wrapper will determine how much of the filling you can use inside each potsticker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
I used this recipe in egg rolls instead of traditional pot stickers, and they turned out very tasty. I cheated a bit on the recipe, by putting the chili oil into the mix, and not making the dipping sauce. My fiancee called them the world's greatest egg rolls. Thank you Marcia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IndyRob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lapel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
The pork filling was delicious. I tried making the wonton wrappers from scratch and it turned out to be an incredibly difficult task. I highly recomend using the premade wrappers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ICEPIRATE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pot Stickers (Chinese Dumplings)

See how to make Chinese dumplings filled with ground beef and shrimp.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Traditional Slovak Haluski

These tender, tasty potato dumplings star crumbled bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States